Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've made this recipe several times and it's terrific exactly as written. This weekend I put a different spin on it. The resulting "Vegetable Frittata" was a huge hit. ~ I was looking for an egg dish that had fresh veggies in it. I found a highly rated Vegetable Frittata on AllRecipes that contained sauteed zucchini, mushroom, onion and bell pepper. However, this recipe also contained lots of cream cheese, half & half and other rich ingredients. While I'm SURE it was wonderful, it also had about 40 grams of fat per serving. ~ I was wanting something a little healthier. I followed this recipe as I always do, only I sauteed the veggies as instructed in the OTHER recipe, and used them in place of the green chiles. ~ I mixed and bake the dish as instructed in this recipe. Swapping the veggies for the green chiles was my ONLY alteration. The dish was a HUGE hit -- my father-in-law AND my hubby (who's not a fan of zucchini) went back twice for more. ~ From now on, I'll alternate between the original recipe and my new "veggie frittata" version. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
A Big Hit! I was skeptical, because I hate cottage cheese & have never heard of using it in an egg casserole recipe. Needing an egg dish that’s healthier than the type that sits overnight (with bread & tons of cheese, etc), I tried this. Great taste and texture – just like the ‘overnight’ type I always enjoy. To make it a bit healthier, half of the eggs I used were just egg-whites, and I added sautéed onions & mushrooms. The recipe tasted rich, even with the low-fat cheeses. People raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I have made this several times for guests and for pot luck. Serve with salsa & sousr cream. Everyone loves it and I am frequently asked for the recipe. I have changed the cheese to mozzerella, another time to colby/jack. I always prepare it a day in advance & micro to warm. Stays moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This was a wonderful casserole! I added some diced ham and onions to it and baked it the day before I served it. Then I heated it in the microwave. I received lots of yums!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I needed a recipe to use up cottage cheese and came across this. I scaled it to 1/2 the original recipe size and cooked it in a smaller baking dish. I am pretty sure I forgot to put the baking powder in! Surprisingly, the dish still puffed up a little bit without it. I had a couple of slices of leftover cooked bacon so I crumbled it and added to the ingredients. The dish made a satisfying dinner accompaniment. I think I may actually try it next time without the flour, and just beat the egg whites separately to create volume making an even lower carb dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I served this as one of the main entrees for Easter brunch. I used a combination of Colby/Jack and Pepper Jack cheese to give it a little more kick. The only suggestion I have is to really watch the cooking time. After the initial 15 min., mine was done after another 25 min. instead of the 35-40 min. called for. I also sprinkled a little more cheese on and broiled the top just to give it some color. Next time I might try adding roasted red peppers or a few spoonfuls of salsa to give it more color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
The whole family loved it! I added frozen New Mexico chiles instead of canned (and probably more than 7oz--I like it stong). Definately make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Very good! So nice to have a breakfast casserole you don't have to put together the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I have allways loved this dish.We have been making it for atlest 28 years.I loged on to allrecipes to see if I could find it.I could not find mine.thank you you saved me for Easter Brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Pretty good -not the texture or flavor I was looking for. I usually make a green chile quiche as part of Christmas brunch, but was looking to cut out some fat and carbs with no crust. This needs a little tweaking, garlic powder, hot sauce, more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States