Green Chile Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
My husband told me he wanted me to make him some beans and eggs- a pretty common mexican breakfast and one of his favorites. I felt like mixing it up a little so I made this casserole and some homemade refried beans. I served some nice warm corn tortillas on the side and it was a great breakfast! My husband loved it. The green chiles added a lot of flavor. As much as I liked this casserole, eating it with beans made it even better! Refried beans are easy. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Turned out great even without the shredded cheese. Added finely chopped red bell pepper. Will try again with bacon or sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I love this recipe. It is quick and easy and it is so nice to have a breakfast casserole with no bread or meat in it for a change. My husband, who does not like any kind of casserole, actually ate it! This has become our Christmas breakfast so thank you for posting and adding to our traditions. I will experiment with some of the suggestions from others, just for fun, but love the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Wonderful every single time!! We've had it for brunch and lunch and dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I halved the recipe, everything except I still added the full 7 ounce can of green chile peppers. We like our food spicy, so noting other comments I added red chili pepper flakes, cayenne and paprika. The flavour was still bland, we could taste the flour and did not like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I have found this one pleases the "picky" or non-adventurous eaters. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Pretty good -not the texture or flavor I was looking for. I usually make a green chile quiche as part of Christmas brunch, but was looking to cut out some fat and carbs with no crust. This needs a little tweaking, garlic powder, hot sauce, more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've made this recipe several times and it's terrific exactly as written. This weekend I put a different spin on it. The resulting "Vegetable Frittata" was a huge hit. ~ I was looking for an egg dish that had fresh veggies in it. I found a highly rated Vegetable Frittata on AllRecipes that contained sauteed zucchini, mushroom, onion and bell pepper. However, this recipe also contained lots of cream cheese, half & half and other rich ingredients. While I'm SURE it was wonderful, it also had about 40 grams of fat per serving. ~ I was wanting something a little healthier. I followed this recipe as I always do, only I sauteed the veggies as instructed in the OTHER recipe, and used them in place of the green chiles. ~ I mixed and bake the dish as instructed in this recipe. Swapping the veggies for the green chiles was my ONLY alteration. The dish was a HUGE hit -- my father-in-law AND my hubby (who's not a fan of zucchini) went back twice for more. ~ From now on, I'll alternate between the original recipe and my new "veggie frittata" version. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Perfect, no changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I added turkey sausage, a can of diced potatoes and topped it with cilantro and sour cream for a light dinner last night. I used fat free cheddar and cottage cheese and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States