Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The bread was pretty good...Not a huge hit but had potential...maybe bud light wasnt the best choice of beers to use...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have now made this several times. I prefer NOT to blend the chilies and cheese and I like the looks of the cheese strips in the bread. Have tried several different beers and frankly can't tell the difference. Make darn sure you use Self Rising, was out once and tried regular flour for a super flop. I also add lots of toasted pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I used a can of cheap beer (it's all we had at the time and I really wanted to make beer bread) and it was amazing. My husband and my dad loved this bread fresh from the oven, and later that night my husband's best friend came over and just about finished off the entire loaf and asked for the recipe! I thought that using the blender was just going to be a hassle and create extra dishes to wash, but it was totally worth it. Can't wait to make it again and again! It was also pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I had good results with this bread. Note for those using canned chilies: If you use a brand that's watery mush, the flavor will be fine, but your bread will be soggy unless you compensate by decreasing the beer a bit. Mine were watery, mushy chilies, and I decreased the beer by about 2-3 ounces. I'd also suggest using extra-sharp Cheddar cheese and drizzling the top with about 2-3 tbsp. melted butter before baking. The recipe doesn't state this, but one of the most important things about making beer bread is not to overwork the batter - just stir gently until there are no dry spots remaining. Let the batter be lumpy and it'll come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I kept the green chilies in pieces. Good flavor! I also used the recipe for self rising flour from AR to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I make this all the time. I use whatever beer I have on hand. I've used cold beer and warm beer. Same to me no matter what I use. I don't blend anything, just dump in some shredded cheese sometimes, sometimes some garlic powder. Sometimes both sometimes neither. Easy easy and I've never had a flop. Always crusty on top and done in the middle. I don't know why the one had hers come out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Loved this! I used a 7oz can of green chilies that I drained. I didn't blend the chilies & cheese (not sure why you would need to do that). Cooked up perfectly in 1 hr & I can't quit eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I followed every step, and the outside of my bread was golden brown, and the inside was mush. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I cut the recipe and half and since I still ran out of self-rising flour, I substituted about 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and a dash of baking powder for the remainder. It still came out very well - My family ate the whole loaf in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
this bread is awesome!! i made it with whole wheat flour and it is still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States