Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
The bread was pretty good...Not a huge hit but had potential...maybe bud light wasnt the best choice of beers to use...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Not enough cheese and it actually went bad fairly soon, but was interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I cut the recipe and half and since I still ran out of self-rising flour, I substituted about 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and a dash of baking powder for the remainder. It still came out very well - My family ate the whole loaf in one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I used a can of cheap beer (it's all we had at the time and I really wanted to make beer bread) and it was amazing. My husband and my dad loved this bread fresh from the oven, and later that night my husband's best friend came over and just about finished off the entire loaf and asked for the recipe! I thought that using the blender was just going to be a hassle and create extra dishes to wash, but it was totally worth it. Can't wait to make it again and again! It was also pretty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I used a dark brown ale with this, and only half the chili peppers it called for, as I don't like my food too spicy. It turned out pretty well and smelled wonderful while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASSIVEMO1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I followed every step, and the outside of my bread was golden brown, and the inside was mush. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I follow the directions and used high end beer. my bread was mush on the inside too. sad. I wont use it again but I liked the idea of this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tirzah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
this bread is awesome!! i made it with whole wheat flour and it is still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlpete31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I kept the green chilies in pieces. Good flavor! I also used the recipe for self rising flour from AR to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I have now made this several times. I prefer NOT to blend the chilies and cheese and I like the looks of the cheese strips in the bread. Have tried several different beers and frankly can't tell the difference. Make darn sure you use Self Rising, was out once and tried regular flour for a super flop. I also add lots of toasted pecans. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEDDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States