Green Chile Cheese Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
It was ok but I did find it bland. Not what I was expecting, I guess I was thinking it would be full of flavor but it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I chose not to blend my cheese and peppers. I like the look and texture of them in the bread. It came out wonderfully. I used a cheaper beer and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I love this receipe, I used whole can chillies and cooked them on the stove top to just get out some of the moisture and my bread wasn't mushy at all. I also used a Samuel Adams Octobefest beer. I will definatly make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I don't like chilis.. So I used zero chilis..... I simple used this as a cheese bread recipe and I enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This didn't work out too well for me. I am not the greatest baker, so that's my fault. But I found this to be a little too bland for my liking. I used "salami cheese" from Mouse Haus in Wisconsin, and my own fresh cayenne peppers, finely diced (I used 5 good sized ones). I'm not sure where I went wrong. I might try this again sometime, though. I like the idea of beer, cheese, and chili peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by ccmnej
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Did not blend cheese or chiles. Used Guinness Stout. Smells great and has a good flavor, but too strong for me. May need to use a lighter beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmnej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I don't know about this. I can't give it a 4 because I really didn't like it. But I don't want to give it a real low rating either. I don't like beer, so I don't know if it had anything to do with it. I had some IPA left over from a visiting friend. Was too much a beer taste/smell. Can barely taste anything else. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I had good results with this bread. Note for those using canned chilies: If you use a brand that's watery mush, the flavor will be fine, but your bread will be soggy unless you compensate by decreasing the beer a bit. Mine were watery, mushy chilies, and I decreased the beer by about 2-3 ounces. I'd also suggest using extra-sharp Cheddar cheese and drizzling the top with about 2-3 tbsp. melted butter before baking. The recipe doesn't state this, but one of the most important things about making beer bread is not to overwork the batter - just stir gently until there are no dry spots remaining. Let the batter be lumpy and it'll come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
My bread was also mushy in the middle but I believe it's because my green chiles were too watery. The bread tasted fantastic though so I will make again. Next time I will use 2 cans of whole green chiles, drained and patted dry, then diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe was nearly effortless and turned out perfectly. I used the AR formula for "self-rising flour", and made 1 of the 3 cups whole wheat flour. Also didn't puree the cheese & chiles, just shredded and chopped finely. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States