Green Chile and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
One of my favorite potluck dishes for 30 years! I make a pot (3 cups) of plain white rice, and then mix all together. I usually stir in a little garlic and onion powder, and salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'm so glad I came across this recipe. I made it last night with Ronaldo's Beef Carnitas. You can have it as a side or put it right in the tortilla with the meat. I used a package of Uncle Bens Wild Rice. Make sure you cook it with the seasoning packet. I reduced the amount of sour cream to 1/2 cup, the cheese to 1 cup and didn't drain the green chiles. I didn't bother layering, just mixed it all up in a bowl and poured into my pan. Yummy. I think you could really soup this up by adding sliced olives, mushrooms, sauteed onions, etc. You could even add some diced chicken and make it a meal. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I LOVE this recipe--so easy! Everyone begs for the recipe. I found I can use half the cheese and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I gave this 5 stars cause I made this dish AS IT WAS WRITTEN, except I NEVER measure cheese, since I'm a cheese lover, I use as much as "I" prefer. Will definitely make this one again!! Everyone loved it! Give this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Great side dish. A nice variation to plain wild rice. I made it for a dinner party of 7 so I doubled the amount of rice. I used 2 packages of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice. I reduced the amount of sour cream and cheddar cheese. Even though I doubled the recipe, I only used 1 cup of light sour cream and 2 cups of cheddar cheese. I used 2 cans of green chilies and used the juice. I didn't drain them as the recipe suggested. This was a very easy recipe. I made the rice earlier in the day and then just before the dinner party, I layered all of the ingredients and baked the dish. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Oh, we all hated this one. Not sure what happened. I didn't find a 6 oz. rice package so I bought a box and followed the directions for 8 servings. Could have been too much rice. The recipe also calls for 16 oz of cheese. One 8 oz package of shredded cheese is 2 cups. Does the recipe really want 4 cups? I only used 2. It was really, really dry. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe! My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sour cream. Next time I think I'll add chopped chicken to make it more like a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a great recipe. Rice can be a boring side, but this is so easy and so good. So much easier than making a risotto. I used 8 oz. Monterey Jack and 8 oz. cheddar and I was short about 2 tablespoons sour cream so I threw in some ranch dip (that I had made with sour cream) to make up the difference. Will definitely make again. I may throw in some shredded cooked chicken or a layer of prepared taco meat. Love it! Additional note: I browned 8 oz. ground beef and used 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning mix to make taco meat and added 1/2 on top of the rice and then the other half on top of the 2nd layer of rice. Awesome - my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This recipe is delicious. I plan on adding some pimento or red bell peppers for a more red and green theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We all liked this one. Only used about 1/2 the amount of cheese called for and didn't drain the chiles. Mixed together the prepared rice, sour cream and green chiles, poured it in the baking dish and topped with shredded cheese. Then baked it until hot and bubbly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States