Green Chile and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I liked this! Mine wasn't dry at all. I left the rice a little watery prior to baking, and I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 jack cheese. The only thing I think it could use is a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Very tasty! Everyone asked me for this recipe. I used the 6 oz Uncle Ben's Rice which took about 25 minutes to make (not instant) and I also sauteed mushrooms and onions for the first layer. I found only about 3 cups of cheese is needed as well(not 4). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Easy and tastey! My grocer didn't have canned chilies so I used fresh, but I would recommend cooking/softening them - the crunch against the soft rice and cheese gave a weird texture. Great contrasting flavours; all my roomies gobbled up the left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This is a great dish, very tasty but it needs to be served right out of the oven so the cheese says melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was very well done. Even when you make it all in lowfat-cheese and sour cream.I also used a box of Uncle Bens wild and white rice seasoned. It was a hit everyone liked it.But the next time I make it I will use a little more green chiles to give it a little more of a bite. This dish went very well with the Bourbon Pecan Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It is a huge hit with all my family member and It makes a great side dish with breaded chicken! Just be sure to make two servings because you will need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Oh, we all hated this one. Not sure what happened. I didn't find a 6 oz. rice package so I bought a box and followed the directions for 8 servings. Could have been too much rice. The recipe also calls for 16 oz of cheese. One 8 oz package of shredded cheese is 2 cups. Does the recipe really want 4 cups? I only used 2. It was really, really dry. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe! My husband loved it and he doesn't even like sour cream. Next time I think I'll add chopped chicken to make it more like a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This recipe is excellent! I was concerned that there wouldn't really be any flavor but I was completely wrong! I used our rice maker to make white rice and then followed the recipe from there. My husband is crazy about this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARGAV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is a great recipe. Rice can be a boring side, but this is so easy and so good. So much easier than making a risotto. I used 8 oz. Monterey Jack and 8 oz. cheddar and I was short about 2 tablespoons sour cream so I threw in some ranch dip (that I had made with sour cream) to make up the difference. Will definitely make again. I may throw in some shredded cooked chicken or a layer of prepared taco meat. Love it! Additional note: I browned 8 oz. ground beef and used 1/2 a packet of taco seasoning mix to make taco meat and added 1/2 on top of the rice and then the other half on top of the 2nd layer of rice. Awesome - my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States