Green Chile and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe has become a Thanksgiving tradition, with everyone fighting over the leftovers. I make it just as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I thought this was delicious. My kids didn't like it. My husband and I both enjoyed it and it was super easy to make. I just popped the rice/seasonings and butter in the rice cooker mixed everything together when the rice was done and put it in the oven to broil the cheese on top. Even though my kids didn't like it (they are 7 and 2), I gave it 5 stars because it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
This is a great way to eat rice- especially for a rice lover like myself! Everyone raved over this dish! I was looking forward to the leftovers, but was lucky to get my one serving! I am always trying to incorporate a new side dish to big dinners and this one is great! When people saw a spicy rice side dish added to Christmas dinner- they weren't sure why it was there, but then they inhaled it without wondering how it got there or why. I have been asked for this recipe soooo many times, it didn't take long to learn it by heart! This is by far my favorite way to make rice! I am sure there are additions and substitutions that can be made, but the only changes I make are to use fat free sour cream and low fat cheese. Still great! Maybe one day I will mix it up with a 1/2 cup of corn or tomatoes added in- that could be great! Wish I came up with this one myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRITTANY2852

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inChrist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is so easy and everyone loves! Want to make a little more zesty dont drain the green chilies as much. I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Overall this was quite good. I used Rice-o-roni wild rice and the box was only a 4.3oz. So I scaled everything else down to fit that but it was still quite rich. I think next time I'll use two 4.3oz boxes (one box doesn't make a whole lot) and keep everything else the same, so it's not so rich. Also, it asks for a rediculously huge amount of cheese. I love cheese, and used it generously in this recipe, but I used not even half of what it called for. So my tip is: scale back on everything but rice so it's not so rich (although if you like green chilis, you can use the whole can). I also used reduced fat sour cream and still was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was pretty good altho I thought it was a bit too much cheese. Would cut back if I made it again. Was a nice side dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Thought this was great. It's a good way to spice up a plain rice dish. It was fast, easy and everyone loved it. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by US66CA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Great side dish. A nice variation to plain wild rice. I made it for a dinner party of 7 so I doubled the amount of rice. I used 2 packages of Uncle Ben's Wild Rice. I reduced the amount of sour cream and cheddar cheese. Even though I doubled the recipe, I only used 1 cup of light sour cream and 2 cups of cheddar cheese. I used 2 cans of green chilies and used the juice. I didn't drain them as the recipe suggested. This was a very easy recipe. I made the rice earlier in the day and then just before the dinner party, I layered all of the ingredients and baked the dish. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made to take to a friend's for dinner, and the only complaint was there wasn't enough! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States