Green Chile and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Easy and tasty. I just used white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Loved this! I'm a big fan of green chilies so I used a 10 oz can of whole green chilies that I chopped. I also used a sharp cheddar cheese along with a cheddar cheese blend. I may experiment with different shredded cheeses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was for Christmas and it was the BESTEST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I used Uncle Ben's rice instead of instant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is a really tasty side dish. Rice can be so boring, but this was not. I would love to cut the cook time down on it next time so I will make some adaptations there, but the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Ok, so I admit I made a few minor changes... so this was just ok. I couldn't find any 6 oz boxes of rice, only 4 oz. And reading some of the reviews, I only used 8 oz bag of cheese (16 does sound way too much), and partially drained the chiles. And I had some leftover rotisserie chicken so I shredded some chicken onto the first layer. I don't know if I would make this again, seemed to be a lot of work for a simple dish (having to take 20-25 mins making the boxed rice first-mine took about 35 to cook). Don't know if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This dish is always a hit! I've made it as written and have also made it using a variety of flavors of rice, such as Spanish rice or Taco rice (Knorr) to accompany Mexican food. I typically make it using 2 packages of rice, about 1-1.5 cups of sour cream, two 4-oz cans of green chiles and 2 cups of cheese (definitely not an exact measurement). I reserve about 3/4 cup of cheese for the top, mix all ingredients together, top it with cheese and bake it until hot & bubbly. It's been delicious every time and receives rave reviews every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this with regular rice. I expected it to be a little spicy and was somewhat disappointed. I will tinker with it. Overall a great place to start for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this since I was in elementary school, I prefer to use cottage cheese rather than sour cream, just gives it that added cheesey flavor i love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was great! I increased the sour cream to 16 ounces and added extra (Ancho) chiles I grew in my garden. Will be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States