Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I make this recipe all the time. My family loves it...but I too add a couple more things. I make roasted chicken and then shred. Saute white onions and then add a can of mexi-corn and diced green chilis, and then the roasted chicken and a 1/4 of the can of green enchilada sauce. I then lay a layer of the sauce at bottom of pan and roll tortillas up with chicken mixture adding black olives and chees (whichever you like) mexi-blend is what I usually use. Then pour rest of any additional chicken mixture, sauce, olives and cheese onto top of the rolled tortillas bake and tada...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SumthnKute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
You need to shred the chicken after you cook it, then recook in oil, garlic, hot sauce. You can make it the day before. You're going to neeed some onions and black olives. Don't make gringo food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Here in Texas we make sour cream chicken enchiladas. Stir some sourcream in with the enchilda sauce (red AND green) and pour over the top and then add more cheese. To the chicken you can add some black beans or canned refried beans for extra fiber. Throw in a dash of salsa and there's your tasty, tangy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very good, easy recipe. The only problem I had was using flour tortillas. Authentic tortillas use only corn and the difference is taste is very noticeably better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
sounds super simple & delicious. i haven't made it yet, but i know how it would taste. only i would recommend using corn tortillas instead of flour...the texture is so much better & won't sogg like flour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I actually tweeked this alot because I was short on time. Used costco precooked carnitas instead of chicken. Heated carnitas per directions on box. Poured a little green sauce in casserole, then dipped tortillas in green sauce a little in pie plate) and added carnitas, refried beans straight from the can, a sprinkle of cheese and rolled. Made about 12 an put in 13 x 9 casserole and topped with remaining green sauce and more cheese. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. Family loved it and was really fast to make (like 10 minutes plus bake time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very easy and tasty recipe. I heated the enchilada sauce, and shredded the chicken into the sauce with a handful of the shredded cheese, and simmered it for a few minutes, then filled the tortillas, pouring the remaining chicken enchilada sauce ontop. I also heated the tortillas over a gas flame to get them a bit crispy prior to filling them. Helped to make the final result a tad less soggy. I used pepper jack cheese. UPDATE: 10/19/2011 - Made these again this time shredding the chicken (I added some chopped onions and some shredded cheese, along with a bit of the enchilada sauce) --- filled the tortillas, and baked them for approx. 15 minutes. After they were a little crispy, I then added some spoonfuls of enchilada sauce on top, followed by some shredded pepperjack cheese, returned to oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Greaserdoll
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very good recipe, but if your making enchiladas they are made with corn tortillas not flour, and they taste better. After they were done i put some cilantro on top of the enchiladas and cubed avocado & half a fresh jalapeno for taste. My bf loved them (and hes not a fan of enchiladas)! Thanks!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greaserdoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacoima, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I took the advice of others and added a soup spoon of enchilada sauce to the tortillas. I didn't have green sauce, so I used regular red enchilada sauce. I added hot pepper flakes to the sauce as it was mild. I sauted the meat with chili, garlic powder and cumin. I also sauted onion and green peppers adding them to the tortilla's. Any left over filling I spread on top of the enchiladas. Turned out very good - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I changed this up quite a bit, based on what I had on hand. I sauteed a small white onion & 4 cloves of garlic. Added ground turkey, cooked & drained. Sprinkled with cayenne pepper, chili powder, and cumin. Put that mixture in 8 medium sized whole wheat tortillas along with spoonful of Las Palmas green enchilada sauce & monterey jack cheese, and chopped, pickled jalapeno peppers for a jolt. Topped with more sauce before baking and finally, the cheese. Served this with refried black beans and roasted corn. Hubby said this must be added to our dinner rotation! I will definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States