Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
The basis of this recipe is really good but you can go through a few more steps to jazz it up. First, instead of boiling your chicken cook it in a little lemon juice with onion, green onion and a few extra spices-chili powder, garlic, salt, pepper, and paprike. Then, when your filling your tortillas use about a spoonfull of suace to each one. The las palmas sauce is just about the best thing, next to making your own suace. Serve with sour cream on top and your set to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Las Palmas green sauce, in the can, makes these taste great. I find other sauces to runny. When I am in a hurry, I cheat and use Rotissere Chicken and it is super quick to put together. I like to stir about 1/4 cup of the sauce into the chicken and cheese mixture. If you want it hotter add pepper-jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Simple to make and very good tasting. My husband wished they were more zippy - we added half a can of chopped green chilies to the sauce, but next time I'll add sauteed onion and garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
You need to shred the chicken after you cook it, then recook in oil, garlic, hot sauce. You can make it the day before. You're going to neeed some onions and black olives. Don't make gringo food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I wanted to find a verde enchilada dish without using soup or sour cream. This one was just what I was looking for. I did cook 3 medium chicken breast, and I'm sure it was more than one pound, in a pressure cooker with cumin, garlic, pepper, and paprika and diced some onions. Hint: used the broth for Mexican rice. Then I shredded the chicken and added a large can of diced green chilies to it. I filled 10 flour tortillas with the chicken and cheese, which fit into a 9X13 pan perfectly. Used the Las Palmas canned green sauce over the top, also added more shredded cheese, slices of pickled jalapeños and black olives to the top. They cooked for 30 min. and I let them sit for about ten before cutting them. These enchiladas were so tasty, you just kept wanting to eat them even though you were stuffed. And they didn't even need any sour cream. So much healthier. Thanks Shackl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Instead of Monterey jack cheese, I subbed cream cheese, mixing it with the chicken until it was melted and pouring a little bit of the sauce into the mixture. Topped with a colby/Monterey jack cheese shredded mixture. This was delicious and easy to prepare. I cannot wait to make again. Served with sour cream and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was great and easy and I took the mixing the shredded chicken with cream of chicken soup idea from Jeri Reed's ''Chicken Enchiladas V'' recipe...yummy ! :-) My boyfriend loves my cooking ! And yes he means it ! :-) LOL Thank goodness for this site for all sorts of great recipe ideas ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWINWI
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
Very easy to make and tasty. Only "modification" was adding a spoonful of sauce in the enchilada. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is the same recipe I have always used but I also add a can of diced jalapenos or chilies and a I saute and onion before adding in the chicken and sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I love this recipe, it was quick and easy. We had guests over and they loved it. I have a picky husband and he loved it too. I did modify the recipe a bit though. In the Mexican culture we don't typically make enchiladas with flour tortillas so I stuck to the usual corn tortillas. I dipped each tortilla in hot oil for about 20 seconds each and drained them and then dipped them in the Las Palmas Green Chile Sauce (large can). I then added chopped, cooked chicken (I boiled the chicken with garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, salt and pepper), adding pepper jack cheese and a heaping tablespoon of green chile sauce into each tortilla, roll it up and when all are done pour the remaining sauce over the top, and finish just as the recipe asks. When they were done cooking I sprinkled, from a small can, chopped green chiles and chopped green onions. I will definitely make this recipe again. Very good recipe but with a little tweaking it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States