Green Chicken Enchilada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I used pepper jack cheese sliced thin, and added 1 homegrown jalapeno pepper to the chicken. This was smoking hot. I only had mozzerella and six italian cheese blend, but that was fine. We only had Old El Paso 28 oz green enchilada sauce available, but it was good. The package of tortillas had 8 in it, so the individual enchiladas were very big. Still, even though I overdid it on the heat, they were great. Easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this as a meal instead of going to the obligitory Mexican restaurant for Cinco de Mayo. I used a rotisserie chicken, and the Las Palmas brand green enchilada sauce. I also sauteed a package of the frozen onion and three pepper mix, and added it to the chicken mixture. I then added a dallop of cream cheese, 3/4 cup quesadilla queso, and maybe 1/4 cup of the green sauce to the mixture. Then I finished the dish as directed (but still used quesadilla queso instead of the Monterey Jack).My husband and I both thought it could have used a bit more spice. He does NOT like spicy food, so that should tell you how mild this dish is as written. Next time, I will add some green chiles and cumin to the mix. My husband also thought the consistancy of the flour tortillas were gummy once they soaked in the green sauce. His personal preference has always been corn tortillas. I think he just thinks that flour tortillas in general are gummy, so I don't fault the recipe for that. I personally enjoyed the consistancy, and think the dish came out well. Will definitely make this again, with the added tweaks to make the dish a little spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
enchiladas with flour tortillas? that's a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I live in the southwest and enchiladas are always made with corn tortillas. It makes the world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Add cream cheese to this to make it exceptional! Cook the chicken in low sodium chicken broth, then after it cools, dice or shred and add cream cheese to the chicken along with spices of your choice and heat in a skillet until cream cheese melts. Then fill with corn tortillas, not flour for a much better taste! Before filling the corn tortilla, dip it in hot, hot oil for about 5 seconds to soft it up. Every time I make these I get at least 10 people that want the recipe. I also prefer Old El Paso green chile enchilada sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I have made this before and it is yummy. I use a pre-cooked chicken that I get from the deli if I don't have any left over chicken. I also mix a can of cream of chicken (or mushroom) soup with the green echilada sauce. I quickly dip the flour tortillas in hot oil, shake them off, then into the green sauce mixture. Then fill and cook as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is a great recipe. I use almost the same ingredients in my enchiladas, but i add about a half cup of salsa to the recipe. Here is a crock pot version of this recipe: mix salsa, enchilada sauce (another reviewer mentioned las palmas.. ill second that.. its delicious! each chile verde enchilada sauce tastes different. las palmas is one of the more flavorful ones). so mix salsa and sauce till combined. add chicken. cook on low for about 4 hours. shred chicken. keep on "keep warm" setting for 30-60 minutes.. this makes the flavor much stronger. when ready, follow the directions stated in the recipe. Thanks for sharing! VERY good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camismommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I make this recipe all the time. My family loves it...but I too add a couple more things. I make roasted chicken and then shred. Saute white onions and then add a can of mexi-corn and diced green chilis, and then the roasted chicken and a 1/4 of the can of green enchilada sauce. I then lay a layer of the sauce at bottom of pan and roll tortillas up with chicken mixture adding black olives and chees (whichever you like) mexi-blend is what I usually use. Then pour rest of any additional chicken mixture, sauce, olives and cheese onto top of the rolled tortillas bake and tada...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SumthnKute

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
You need to shred the chicken after you cook it, then recook in oil, garlic, hot sauce. You can make it the day before. You're going to neeed some onions and black olives. Don't make gringo food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mysteryman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Here in Texas we make sour cream chicken enchiladas. Stir some sourcream in with the enchilda sauce (red AND green) and pour over the top and then add more cheese. To the chicken you can add some black beans or canned refried beans for extra fiber. Throw in a dash of salsa and there's your tasty, tangy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States