Green Bell Peppers stuffed with Tomato Lentil Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
These great but i always cook peppers half way though before i stuff them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtdewer
Home Town: Warrensville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
The filling was okay. A little bland. I was hoping the bell pepper cups would soften a little more, but they were still really crunchy. Ultimately, I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! Made it for a date night. The idea to use the pasta sauce was a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Farrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andrews, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lzhuber
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I loved this, but did make some changes. I used 1lb of lamb, 3/4 cup onion, 3 cloves garlic, and 2 tops of bell pepper diced. I didn't add in extra onion. It was so good and the perfect amount of stuffing for 5 peppers. Also I used Ragu Chunky Roasted Red Pepper and Onion sauce. I did boil pepper shells 5 minutes prior to stuffing so they would be softer and I didn't have any cheddar so I left that off. I cooked covered for 20 minutes and then turned on broiler. Added parm cheese to top and toasted 3 minutes until melted/bubbly. Yummy. My husband loved it! I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
these were very easy and tasty. the changes i made were minimal. i did not measure the chopped onion. i used one small onion and used 2 tblsp. of chopped garlic. i also used parmesan couscous since i could not find the tomato couscous. i also mixed in some cheddar in the meat mixture. i cooked the green peppers at 375 for 15 minutes befor adding the filling. ( i like my peppers soft) then i added the filling and places under the broiler to melt the cheddar on top. super tasty and there was tons of left over filling which i froze and will use another night. thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These were delicious. next time i will mix cheese in with the filling and boil the peppers to soften them but other than that it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This would have received 5 stars except that the peppers really should have been parboiled because I had to cook this forever to get the peppers even close to softened and that of course dries out the stuffing. I've read in other reviews indication that the recipe they saw had a heck of a lot more than 16 ounces of pasta sauce, but what I'm seeing right here doesn't. The point being, you need at least 24 ounces of sauce. All in all, great taste and I'll be making this again - and parboiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I halved the recipe and changed many things but ended up with great results. I used 3 green peppers, but used them all for putting the stuffing in and none for chopping up and putting in the stuffing. I used 2 - 3 tsp minced garlic, more like 12 oz spaghetti sauce, and 3/4 cup onion. There was no tomato lentil couscous mix I could find, so I just cooked 1/2 cup couscous in 1 cup water. This was the process: Brown ground beef. Don't drain grease and add onions and cook over medium heat till translucent. Add garlic, 1 tsp onion powder, spaghetti sauce, and a few shakes of parmesan cheese. Simmer on low a little bit and while it is simmering boil the peppers for 2 minutes. Cook couscous and add to beef mixture. Then add about 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese into the beef /couscous mixture and stuff peppers. Top with more mozz cheese and bake covered till soft, about 25 minutes. The last 10 minutes of cooking, remove cover to let cheese brown a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The stuffing inside of the bell pepper was the best I have had so far. My whole family loved the stuffing. The bell pepper was really crunchy, which we don't prefer. I will probably add a little bit of water to my meat mixture and cook longer, for probably an hour at 350 degrees next time or follow anothers advise and boil for 4 minutes covered just to soften up a bit. Plus, if it is cooked for an hour, make sure to add the cheese on the last 20 minutes. I did not use a cut-up bell pepper in the mixture and I substituted ground beef for ground turkey. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was super yummy - I love stuffed peppers and Couscous... what great combination! We used whole grain couscous because that is what I had in my pantry. I also skipped chopping an additional green pepper for the mixture. This made way more than five peppers but that is probably bc my peppers were rather small. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyssakitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States