Green Bell Peppers stuffed with Tomato Lentil Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
VERY GOOD!!! the only thing is, I asked 5 people at the grocery store what "Lentil Couscous mix" was, and believe it or not, NOT one of them knew?? so I bought a lentil rice mix instead, which worked just as well and was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Just to be a bit more clear, the top five green peppers are not chopped, they are halved, gutted and cleaned. The two jars of spaghetti sauce are: 28oz is Ragu green pepper and mushroom sauce, and the 16oz is Hunt's Special Ready sauce. I save about a quarter of the sauce without the cous cous and spoon it around the peppers. Like I said, its a very meaty meal! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I love these peppers. I made a some of changes: 1) used about 12 oz of cheese--half I mixed into the stuffing, and other half was sprinkled on top; 2) could not find tomato lentil couscous, so I used the parmesan/garlic/olive oil couscous I had on hand; 3) Instead of 2 jars spaghetti sauce I used 1 jar sauce, and 2 cans stewed tomatoes; 3) Used 1 pound ground round and 1 pound hot italian sausage; 4) Used green, red, orange and yellow bell peppers; 5) Since filling looked very soupy, I sprinkled Italian breadcrumbs over filling, just before sprinkling with cheese (hoping breadcrumbs would absorb some liquid) This was very good the first night (but I was not bowled over--would have rated this a 3 star recipe). However, after sitting in the fridge overnight, the flavors melded, texture firmed up (filling was not as soupy as it was the first night)--these peppers were absolutely fantastic as left-overs. My suggestion is to make these 1 day ahead of time so flavors/texture develop. Next time I may add some sun-dried tomatoes and mushrooms--and lentils! Thanks--you've made a stuffed pepper lover out of me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These are delicious! I would like to suggest that to make the peppers a little less crunchy, I parboil the peppers first in boiling water to cover for 4 min. Instead of pasta sauce I used regular tomato sauce and/or a canned petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Very Good, peppers could have been cooked longer. I suggest cooking the peppers to the tenderness you like and then adding the cheese the last few mins in the oven. I had to take my peppers out sooner than I would have liked so the cheese would not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
So delicious. I made one change: I used 1.5 lbs of spicy Italian sausage instead of the ground beef. I also waited until the pepper tenderness was to my liking before adding the cheese in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Excellent recipe!! Followed recipe to the T and was lucky enough to find the tomato lentil couscous mix. I did use Ragoo extra chunky mushroom sauce which complimented it perfectly. I had 5 large bell peppers to stuff and had enough stuffing for about 4 more!!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The stuffing inside of the bell pepper was the best I have had so far. My whole family loved the stuffing. The bell pepper was really crunchy, which we don't prefer. I will probably add a little bit of water to my meat mixture and cook longer, for probably an hour at 350 degrees next time or follow anothers advise and boil for 4 minutes covered just to soften up a bit. Plus, if it is cooked for an hour, make sure to add the cheese on the last 20 minutes. I did not use a cut-up bell pepper in the mixture and I substituted ground beef for ground turkey. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fulsome-cooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Yum! I did change the recipe a bit, too. I excluded the chopped pepper in the filling, added some Italian breadcrumbs and some diced tomatoes. I also used wildmushroom and herb couscous and it was fabulous!! So easy to make and like the previous poster thought - better favors on the second day. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States