Green Bell Peppers stuffed with Tomato Lentil Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is THE best stuffed peppers I have ever eaten. I did need to make slight changes to the recipe for our family. Definitely salt and pepper the meat before stuffing. I was unable to find Tomato Lentil Couscous. So I substituted Tomato Couscous and added 1/4 cup of dried lentils to it. The lentils were a little crunchy still when I removed from the oven. When I make this again, I will probably grind the lentils just a tad in my blender before adding to the couscous, or I will cook in the couscous to soften before stuffing. I had to omit the cheese since my son is allergic to dairy. My little son ate this and thought it was great!!! I did not even miss the cheese or the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was very tasty and filling! I halved the recipe and had PLENTY of leftover filling. which is fine since it seems very freezable and next time I make this most of the work will be done. I followed the recommendation of an earlier reviewer and poached the pepper cups for 3 min. in boiling water first. They came out perfectly, not mushy, but not too crisp either. I used ground turkey instead of beef and used a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella cheese since I was short on cheddar. It was excellent and, because of the poaching, only needed to bake for 10 min. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
It was really good! I did not have any couscous so I used white rice instead. I also added more tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was a really good recipe however I did change it a bit. I used garlic and olive oil couscous, I couldn't find tomato lentil. I also did not use any tomato sauce in this, I didn't think that it would go well with the cheddar cheese. and I used hot italian susage instead of ground beef. It gave it a nice spice. all in all it was a tastey recipe. I think next time I am going to chop up the peppers and make it as a casserole instead. It was a bit difficult to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This recipe is delicious. I used plain tomato sauce instead of pasta sauce and just added basil myself. I also used ground turkey instead of beef to save on fat and cholesterol. Very flavorful and easy. I like to dice up red bell peppers instead of green ones to mix in just to add color sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
For those who prefer peppers that aren't quite so crunchy, poach them first for five minutes max in simmering water, then remove with a pair of tongs, drain and place in the baking dish. They'll still have enough firmness to hold the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I have used this before and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
So delicious. I made one change: I used 1.5 lbs of spicy Italian sausage instead of the ground beef. I also waited until the pepper tenderness was to my liking before adding the cheese in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Loved it even though I made many modifications. Used a 20oz pkg of ground turkey, 8 oz of stewed tomatoes, about 1/3 c. ketchup, some left over orzo pasta, and a veggie bouillon cube. This very forgiving recipe turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States