Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made these as a quick extra vegetable side dish for a small Christmas dinner. It was easy to make. Although, I don't see how it really flavored the green beans. Although, the walnuts made it look like a more attractive dish and they added a nice additional taste along side the green bean. Typically, nuts already come roasted. However, I decided to still toast these as instructed. Instead of doing them in the oven I just toasted them in a small pan on the stove top. On medium-high it took about 5 minutes. Just like in the oven, watch them! They will brown quickly. I used frozen defrosted green beans and I only had dried parsley so I cut that back to about a tsp and just heated it with the butter. I made 1/2 recipe with a 1 lb bag. I would make this again for a small holiday dinner side dish. It was good without being overly filling. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Made the original recipe for a family dinner. Big hit. Made it again using leftover blanched green beans originally intended as a cruditie. Followed the recipe, but heated them a shorter time. Awesome again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daryl Stokes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buena Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Very easy to make while attending to other cooking. It did not satisfy the anti veggie pickity-picks around here, so all the more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slacker Deluxe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I don’t normally have walnut oil on hand but I found out it was worth every penny spent. I par-boiled the green beans in hot water then put it in cold water to cool it. I also added in fresh minced garlic to the oil and butter. The walnut oil added another layer of mild nutty flavor to the beans. Thou I am sure if prepared without the walnut oil this would still be a tasty side dish. The toasted walnuts added texture and makes for a nice presentation. This was an interesting nice twist to plain ole green beans. I paired this side dish with, “Caramel Apple Pork Chops, “ and “Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Onions, “also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why walnut oil is needed as nobody could taste it. Be sure walnut pieces are small enough and do not overcook the string beans. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a superb recipe. My favourite way to make green beans. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I added a small handful of diced red pepper , a small handful of diced onion, and two cloves of minced garlic, and sauteed them before adding the beans. The family loved them at Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
These were pretty good. The walnuts added a very different taste, I couldn't decide whether I liked them or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Loved the beans...the walnuts didn't seem to go over in my house. I could take them or leave them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
It's not that this was bad, it was just not as good as I expected it to be. Thanks, but I think I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States