Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I made this recipe was a side dish for Thanksgiving dinner, it was incredible! The taste of the walnuts with the green beans was very unique, my family really liked it, I didn't have walnut oil, so I just added olive oil, and I also added 3 cloves of fresh garlic - that I toasted with the butter just before serving. A definite keeper, excellent side dish for any dinner! No more boring beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANNOUSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Oh my goodness, I had no idea green beans could be so delicious! I didn't have any walnut oil, so instead I used olive oil as other reviewers suggested, plus I only used one-half the butter that was called for. I also added 2 cloves of garlic that I minced and sautéed in the hot oil before adding the beans. This dish was so tasty and flavorful; I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Walnut oil was a splurge and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I made this as part of a buffet for a friend's daughter's wedding--for 50 people! I was working in a tiny kitchen in a comunity center--it had a sstove and microwave. I had purchased 2lb bags of trimmed beans at Costco--to cook, I snipped off a corner of the bag and microwaved them for 6 minutes. Then I melted the butter and added the walnut oil and toasted nuts and tossed that with the cooked beans. Form there, they went out to the steam table on the buffet. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
These were the best green beans I have ever had and I really do not care for green beans. I used frozen beans and also a clove of garlic and olive oil like others have mentioned because I didn't have walnut oil. Excellent and I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Good, but be sure to finely chop the walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Great recipe. Very easy. I had a large dinner party and these were a HIT, for people who liked nuts. Sent my husband to buy ingredients, he couldn't find walnut oil. I substited olive oil. Sure would have been better other way. BUT still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why walnut oil is needed as nobody could taste it. Be sure walnut pieces are small enough and do not overcook the string beans. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
These are absolutely delicious! I didn't have walnut oil, so I used toasted sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I recently made this as a side dish for 40+ people at a Fellowship Dinner. Everyone absolutely enjoyed it! I cook every other week for this group and am always trying new recipes that I find in allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States