Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
good side dish, made with peanut oil becuase I didn't have walnut oil. Can say roasting the walnut was a good thing to do. great for healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have no idea how this recipe actually tastes using green beans. I used asparagus instead. I also skipped the parsley, as it was superfluous. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. It was a big hit with the family at Easter! You can just trim the asparagus or cut it into bite-sized segments, steam the asparagus for 5 minutes to soften, then saute with the rest of the ingredients. I'll be doing this again and again. Even my 3 year old enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I Followed the recipe exactly and wasn't thrilled with it. I'm kind of disapointed that I went and spent $7.00 on the walnut oil and it came out bland. Next time I'll go with somthing a little more tastey and exciting. I will say the cooking time and method was perfect...the beans came out nice and crunchy and bright green. If you are going to try out this recipe, I would recoment using some garlic or carmelized onions with it....it just really needed somthing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Found this to be bland. Served this at a large family meal to mixed reviews. Used olive oil because I couldn't find the walnut oil. May have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These were good. This is the best method for cooking green beans that I have found (boiling for 5 minutes then saute for 4 minutes). I added a some minced garlic because we eat everything with garlic. Didn't have walnut oil so used EVOO. Also be sure to toast the walnuts, that's a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made these for Christmas dinner and found them to be absolutely delicious. It was one of the only times I have cooked green beans to the perfect consistency. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Excellent flavor. I think the recipe calls for too many walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kay
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I, too, could not find walnut oil at the groceries and sub'd it with evoo and it came out just as flavorful. this went excellent with the prime rib that i was serving. one draw back that i had was that since i needed enough to serve 12 people (about 3 lbs) with beans straight out of the refigerator, i had a difficult time getting the heat evenly distribute throughout in time to maintain the "freshness" of the beans. some of the beans had started to get the "over-cooked" look that i had tried to avoid. next time, i am going to bring the beans down to room temp before i try making huge portions again. excellent recipe and super easy to make~!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you! These beans are awesome, both in taste and presentation. The walnut oil adds a subtle nuttiness and, if at all possible, should not be substituted. The toasted walnuts also contribute great flavor and at the same time dress the beans up visually. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Loved this one! Such a simple addition makes all the difference! Don't skip the step of toasting the walnuts first; this really adds such a depth of flavor. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States