Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Don't let the simplicity of this recipe fool you! These beans are awesome, both in taste and presentation. The walnut oil adds a subtle nuttiness and, if at all possible, should not be substituted. The toasted walnuts also contribute great flavor and at the same time dress the beans up visually. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was Wonderful! I did not have walnut oil so I just used Extra Virgin Olive oil. I also used about a tablespoon of minced garlic since my family doesn't like anything without garlic. It was a hit even though most of my family doesn't like vegetables. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I threw this together as a last minute veggie side for guests. I used frozen green beans, defrosted and substituted olive oil and dried parsely and it was still amazing and so easy. One of my guests said that she usually didn't like green beans, but these were an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Awesome! I used olive oil because I couldn't find walnut oil at the store. I also added some dried cranberries as suggested by some others. I halved the recipe and still had a huge bowl of green beans. You are going to need a HUGE pan to sautee the green beans if you do the whole recipe. I generally hate vegetables and I had no ideas green beans could be this delicious! And it was super-easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This was really good and tasty! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbieJ.
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Made this tonight for supper. In fact, everything we had tonight came from All Recipes. This was pretty good. Hubby liked it a lot. He likes crispy green beans. I like mine mushy. Used craisins as someone suggested. Looked really pretty with the walnuts and craisins. I cut back on the butter and the walnut oil to one tablespoon each, which was plenty. Even cooked the walnuts in the butter and walnut oil mixture before adding the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These are SOOO good! My new fav way to prepare green beans. I only needed to bake the walnuts for 5 or 6 minutes or they would have burned. I did not have walnut oil and I cannot afford any at this time so I used olive oil and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
We thought this recipe was okay, but I wouldn't call it exceptional. The walnut oil was an expensive ingredient, but didn't seem to add that much extra flavor. I'll probably try the recipe again, though (since I have more walnut oil), but next time I'll add the chopped garlic suggested by the other posters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was an easy recipe to make. Good flavor combination with the green beans and walnuts. Next time I will cut back on the butter and oil because it was a little too "greasy" for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
My husband really liked this recipe. I added fresh minced garlic. It was good tasting and had a nice presentation. Think this would be good for a buffet. I do, however, still prefer the cherry tomato/basil/butter/green bean recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States