Green Beans With Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deirdre
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe. Like many others, I hate to suggest changes to someone's recipe they have shared but for personal preferences the only thing I would do differently next time is add a tablespoon of red pepper jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Really good. Used olive oil, not walnut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My husband loved these! My daughter and I enjoyed these also, but not as much as he did. He finished the entire dish pretty much himself! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I roasted the walnuts a little longer, for 10 minutes Then, I didn't have walnut oil so I used olive oil and I used about half as much oil and butter as the recipe called for.... it was DELICIOUS! My family, including my 3 and 5 year old loved it. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bodega Jane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
So good. I used almond oil and sliced almonds as I couldn't find walnut oil...compliments galore at Thanksgiving! People went up for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I don’t normally have walnut oil on hand but I found out it was worth every penny spent. I par-boiled the green beans in hot water then put it in cold water to cool it. I also added in fresh minced garlic to the oil and butter. The walnut oil added another layer of mild nutty flavor to the beans. Thou I am sure if prepared without the walnut oil this would still be a tasty side dish. The toasted walnuts added texture and makes for a nice presentation. This was an interesting nice twist to plain ole green beans. I paired this side dish with, “Caramel Apple Pork Chops, “ and “Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Onions, “also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicious! Easy and convenient to make. I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Such a delicious way to prepare green beans. I used a bag of frozen french style green beans from Trader Joes. I steamed them rather than boiling them. The walnut oil does add a wonderful dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This is wonderful!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was very good. I did not have walnut oil, but I did have white truffle oil. Very nice. I added a bit of garlic salt. My teenage son even liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States