Green Beans with Smokey Bacon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the second weekend I've made these and they were just fantastic. This is a really easy recipe and the flavors are a wel come change to regular Ole green beans will be making these alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this recipe twice, once with red wine vinegar and once with apple cider vinegar since many reviewers were mixed on which was better. Both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Definitely a fan. The beans tasted very fresh since they were just quick cooked. Being in the south, we typically eat bacon and onion in our cooked to a pulp green beans (nearly an hour). This was great for me and had what I would call a West Coast taste. I gave four instead of five as I do love my overcooked green beans a little more; however, this was a great switch up and delish! Score for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wonderful! I nailed it the second time around. Vinegar had just a little bite and beans were perfect! Amazing complement to my grilled bacon-wrapped Elk Backstrap Filet Mignon! I urge people to follow the instructions, as I was too busy with my grilled salmon the first time I made this and it was not as good as last night's batch. When the bacon STARTS to brown, add the onions. I had hard, unappealing bacon the first time because I let it finish like I would for breakfast, then had all the extra cooking time on top of that. To those who have seen fit to complain about the vinegar taste, please pay attention to the name of the dish, then note the word vinegar a second time in the ingredients. Then, don't make this dish and that should save you much heartburn about the flavor you will achieve with this side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NM Elk Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
My family loved it, instead of cooking it I had the beans in the steamer for 3 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used bacon bits and rice wine vinegar. It was great, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I just wasn't that impressed with this dish. I love the combination of ingredients and followed the recipe exactly but something was missing for me, not enough flavor. Sorry. I drained off the bacon grease, was I supposed to do that? Maybe that is why it just lacked flavor for me. I will try this again as I have had all of these ingredients in the past but for some reason this just wasn't flavorful enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I've made green beans with bacon before, but the red wine vinegar adds a lot. I steamed the green beans and skipped the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a delightful twist to boring ole' green beans. I used turkey bacon and sliced sweet Maui onions and actually love these carmelized! Another reviewer, Linda Mclean, suggested apple cider vinegar in place of red wine vinegar and so I used that instead. Loved the subtle sweet-n-sour tang, and it's not overpowering, which is good for all of us! Everyone here loves bacon so you can't go wrong with that in this or any other dish! Thank you for sharing Frank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I used shallots rather than onions and loved them caramelized. As recommended by another reviewer, I used apple cider vinegar rather than the red wine vinegar and preferred that exchange. The small amount of sugar and vinegar was not enough to produce the sweet-sour tang I sort of expected and I was glad it didn't. It was, however, enough to contribute great flavor. As for the bacon, it's hard to go wrong adding it to just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States