Green Beans With Mustard Cream Sauce and Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Great taste. I made it as a condiment for pasta and it worked out great. I also added carrots, because I didn't have enough beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dro, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Yummy! A very nice change from the standard green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I steamed the fresh green beans in the microwave for 2 min 15 seconds, so they were crisp and vibrant green. I didn’t want the mustard cream sauce to overwhelm the freshness of the green beans, so I ended up drizzling the sauce on the top which is the way I will do it in the future as well. I do have some dijon mustard cream sauce left over because drizzling doesn’t take as much. That’s OK, it went into the fridge and will be warmed up and served over a poached egg for breakfast tomorrow. The dijon flavor in the sauce is subtle and mild, and it allows the flavor of the vegetables to shine through. Very nice side dish with good presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This turned out much better than I expected. The only thing I recommend is to stick with the 2 lbs of green beans (if possible), otherwise there's just too much sauce and it ends up overpowering the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this last year for Thanksgiving, and it got rave reviews. I used fresh green beans, instead of frozen, and thinly sliced Vidalia onions instead of pearl onions. Everyone loved it, and I will definatley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
A very good recipe, a nice side to any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
The end result was very tasty but the method was way over complicated! I softened a finely diced onion (couldn't find pearl onions) in a pan whilst the milk mixture was heating in the microwave. I added the butter & flour to the onions, added the milk and cooked till just starting to thicken. I then added some frozen green beans and simmered for 10 mins until the beans were cooked and sauce thick. Didn't use 1/4 cup of mustard as I thought that was excessive. How much mustard you need will depend on the brand you use & personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
NO ONE ATE IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States