Green Beans with Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very tangy sauce--exactly what I wanted! I bought one of the 'steamer bags w/whole green beans' from the freezer section of the grocery store. I steamed the green beans in the morning and then poured the dressing over them and let the sit in the fridge for about 6-7 hours. I LOVE IT! Tangy and crisp...I've had similar tasting green beans @ a nice restaurant...but I do believe these were better! Ooooh and I didn't use as much olive oil as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMK1801

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
this recipe is good, but not great considering all the spices which was somewhat of a disappointment. i really thought this recipe had the potential to take center stage in the green bean department, but i have other more flavorful recipes i'll stick to using far fewer ingredients that come together beautifully for that WOW factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I had higher expectations for this considering all the seasonings going on here. It was not nearly as full-flavored as I thought it would be. All I can say is that it was better than just plain cooked beans with nothing on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is delicious!!! I did not have marjoram so I used fresh thyme in it's place. I will make this again no doubt!!! Even my 16 month old loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julaina's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsonburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
For those who had too much "onion" taste... chop the white parts off and just use the green tops of the onions which are more mild in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Whoever created this recipe must really love onions. I only used 2 instead of 6 for 24oz of fresh green beans, and we couldn't taste the green beans. If I were to make this again I would probably cut the onions down to 1 and double the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. It's a great combination of herbs, and I took the advice of other reviewers and let it marinate for a few hours. The flavor was perfect. I also used slightly less than the requested olive oil, and found that a little bit actually goes a long way! My beans are a little shiny in the flashed photo. Next time I will use still less olive oil and I'm sure they'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is a nice change from plain, steamed beans, nothing fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was awesome! I added too much sugar by accident (a clump ell in) so mine was a little sweeter than I like, but if you use the right amount is should be perfect. This is good hot or gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving once, and it worked out okay. I think it is a good concept overall, but the flavour is not quite right. Maybe I will try it again with less olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States