Green Beans with Hazelnuts and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Seasoning vegetables with olive oil and lemon is good, but fairly common. Even toasted almonds is really nothing new, even though that's tasty as well. Adding toasting hazelnuts, however, is what gives this a flavor twist, which we really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
Made this for Easter and it was very good. Made a day ahead and reheated in microwave. Used toasted almonds instead of hazel nuts and added some lemon juice to the cooking water. Reheats nicely if you don't overcook the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very good. I used butter rather than olive oil just for personal preference. I think it's important to chop the hazelnut finely to better complement the green bean and lemon flavor, otherwise it's a bit overpowering. Thank you Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Like some other reviewers, I used toasted slivered almonds. The lemon gave the beans a lovely freshness without being overpowering & the almonds added a lovely crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
My family isn't crazy over the green bean casserole w/ cream soup & fried onions. I decided to make this one for Thanksgiving, and was extremely pleased. It has a hint of lemon and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Very easy to make...I liked the fact that I could assemble and cook one day, reheat and serve the next. I was a little disappointed in the taste...a little bland, despite following the recipe and using all fresh ingredients. I will stick with my usual green bean fave. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is very tasty and I love the twist on this dish. I had raw hazelnuts which I lightly toasted and rough chopped. I cooked the fresh green beans until it was tender but still had a little crunch. I put it in ice cold water to stop the cooking process and retained the bright green color of the green beans. I added the olive oil, salt, black pepper and lemon zest to taste. I let it marinate all day until it was ready to serve. The hint of lemon zest gave the beans a nice freshness and added taste without it being too overpowering. The star of this dish is the HAZELNUTS! I am sure you could use toasted almonds in place of this but I love how the hazelnuts gave this a nuttier and earthy flavor with the light seasonings and nice crunch from green beans. This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
A very nice side dish. One change I made was to omit the olive oil and substitute a slightly sweet balsamic drizzle sauce (Brand name: “Racconto Signature Collection”) when I tossed the beans, hazelnuts and zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the best vegetable side dish I've ever had! I didnt have hazlenuts so I used sliced almonds and I also used Lemon Extract which I am not sure if its the same as lemon zest, but it was so delicious I couldnt stop eating it. Even there is no butter involved, the green beans taste buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was really tasty! A lovely and refreshing compliment to my thanksgiving meal! Don't skimp on the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States