Green Beans with Hazelnuts and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was good. I ended up using about 1/2 dried zest & 1/2 fresh because I didn't have quit enough fresh (fresh is better - won't do that again). This was not as interesting as I hoped it would be, but still a nice change (and I just love green beans for real, so I rarely find them boring). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellent, and instead of Hazelnuts, I used slivered almonds and lighly browned them in olive oil and then added them to the beans to serve. My husband loved them, and he usually only wants salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Although its not the healthiest way to prepare this, try substituting 1 tbsp. of olive oil with 1 tbsp. of butter. Garnish with fresh lemon wedges for those who prefer the dish with a bit more tang! Good staple recipe when you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I found the recipe to be rather bland. It wasn't bad, but there wasn't much flavor aside from the green beans themselves. I added the juice from half a lemon, and it still didn't make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
A must-try! Healthy, light, tasty, easy to make! Great the next day, right out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was a unique take on green beans. I steamed the beans and squeezed the lemon onto them like recommended. I really did enjoy the lemon taste such that we didn't even season with salt and pepper, it just wasn't necessary. I will definitely pull this out again. PS - I couldn't find hazelnuts at the store, so I bought a can of Planters LIghtly Salted mixed nuts and picked out the hazelnuts, worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I'm giving this a five star. It is delicious. I've served green beans like this for many years, steaming the green beans, not boiling them. Unfortunately, I now am allergic to nuts (sob!!), so I serve the hazel nuts or whatever kind I'm putting on the dish, in a bowl and let people spooon what they want to on their beans. As others have stated, add the juice of a lemon. It goes well with the beans and adds a bit more flavor than the zest alone. We like olive oil, and rarely use butter in our home. The oil adds a flavor that butter can't duplicate, and it's lots healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter lunch. It was very nice. maybe a needed to cook the beans a bit more. But very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Hazelnuts added a different taste... I loved it - the rest of the family was OK with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States