Green Beans with Hazelnuts and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I thought it needed a little more lemon zest though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is very tasty and I love the twist on this dish. I had raw hazelnuts which I lightly toasted and rough chopped. I cooked the fresh green beans until it was tender but still had a little crunch. I put it in ice cold water to stop the cooking process and retained the bright green color of the green beans. I added the olive oil, salt, black pepper and lemon zest to taste. I let it marinate all day until it was ready to serve. The hint of lemon zest gave the beans a nice freshness and added taste without it being too overpowering. The star of this dish is the HAZELNUTS! I am sure you could use toasted almonds in place of this but I love how the hazelnuts gave this a nuttier and earthy flavor with the light seasonings and nice crunch from green beans. This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I didn't have a lemon so I used a few drops of lemon juice, but even so we found it very tasty. My husbands doesn't like veggies much, but he loved this. I toasted the hazelnuts and ground them up a bit, just so every bite would have hazelnut in it. We'll definitely have this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was so tasty and my husband went back for seconds and he says he doesn't like green beans! I steamed the green beans then made it like the recipe but didn't have hazelnuts so I substituted macademia nuts. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was really tasty! A lovely and refreshing compliment to my thanksgiving meal! Don't skimp on the salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drusie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I didn't measure anything, just eyeballed, and added lots of lemon zest and this is definitely my new fave way of making green beans! Also, our store didn't have hazelnuts so I used sliced almonds. Delish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is the best vegetable side dish I've ever had! I didnt have hazlenuts so I used sliced almonds and I also used Lemon Extract which I am not sure if its the same as lemon zest, but it was so delicious I couldnt stop eating it. Even there is no butter involved, the green beans taste buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Average way to make beans. Used almonds instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is amazing. Everytime I make it, my family eats all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Love this recipe! Very easy to do and it tastes great with summertime grilled foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States