Green Beans with Cheese and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
My family really liked this. As usual I made some changes due to time and pantry limitations. First I used 2 cans of drained green beans, 3/4 of a cup of chopped yellow onions and one link (6 oz) of smoked sausage chopped, 1 cup plain Greek yogurt with a pinch of sugar,(as a sub for the sour cream) 1/3 cup miracle whip and 1/2 to 3/4 cup shredded cheese. I dumped it all together in a casserole dish, laid some triangles of sliced cheese on the top and baked it for 30 minutes at 350. As you can tell I'm a shortcut cook and while that doesn't always work this came out great. I think I could have gone with only 1/2 a link of smoked sausage, it was a dominant flavor, but still delicious! I think this was a great dish and very forgiving, also the addition of herbs might give this a whole different character. Thank you so much for a good solid side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this recipe as a low carb side and my family loved it. I used fresh cut green beans and and followed the directions exactly. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Good! Made it on stove instead of baking, and it was still really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Great dish! Used turkey bacon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made this for a potluck for the holiday weekend and got many positive comments. I added the topping from Grandma's Green Bean Casserole (also on this site) to give it something extra special. I added some seasonings to the green bean mixture...garlic powder & onion powder. I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Yummy! I substituted non-fat plain greek yogurt for the sour cream and mayo, used turkey bacon and no onion (family preference). Even my toddlers who hate green beans ate these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Perfect followed the recipe, no changes and everyone loved it! Everone asked for the recipe! Actually better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I made this recipe for our Thanksgiving dinner this year and I got many compliments. Everyone loved it! I used 2 cans of green beans and I doubled the bacon. It is a nice change from the condensed soup version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I didn't use the bacon though. Very yummy and a great change up to the green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Rich flavor, much more interesting than cream-of-something soup. Our new favorite green bean recipe for special meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States