Green Beans with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving for my family of 15, it was very easy to make and smelled delicious, however, the final product got poor reviews, very bland compared to everything else on the table. Sorry, but it was a unanimous vote not to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I made this instead of the traditional green bean casserrole on Thanksgiving. They were pretty good, but not terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was a very good recipe. I tried making it a few times a couple different ways and the best way is as follows. First cook the oil, sugar, and onion on LOW heat. Get it started on med-high, but once the onions start sizzling turn it down to low and stir every once in a while. Second I added a splash of balsamic vinegar (maybe a teaspoon at most). Third I cooked the beans in the microwave first, then threw them in the onion mix and cooked for an additional 5 minutes or so. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
It was really really hard for me to not throw some garlic in as I was cooking, but I stayed true to the recipe and it is an excellent side dish. A nice change of pace from my usual garlic & EVOO roasted green beans. Def worth trying! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
i really like the concept of this dish. it may have been my fault, but the sugar and olive oil turned brown pretty quickly and made it taste a little "burnt". i cooked on med-high heat as instructed, but i think next time i'll cook on lower temp. i don't think sugar can handle being sauteed for 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe and have made it many times, especially for parties. I use 2 or 3 sliced fresh onions in place of the frozen pearl onions and whole frozen green beans in place of the cut ones, and it looks beautiful. I carmelize the onions with the oil and sugar for about 10 - 15 minutes on low heat (check every couple minutes and give it a stir), then add the green beans until it stops "smoking" (from the ice) and is heated through. After I take it off, I add the fresh dill (I made it once with dried dill weed and it was awful), salt and pepper. It has a beautiful presentation, tastes great, and is easy to put together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
nice, different way to make green beans...but they are still green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessie S.
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is the tastiest, easiest side I've made in a long time! I was so pleased that I recapped the entire experience on my blog. You will LOVE this recipe! http://www.littlecalorie.com/recipes/2008/6/26/balsamic-seared-chicken-with-caramelized-green-beans-pearl-o.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I've made this recipe several times, and even without the dill weed (I forgot it the first time until after I had emptied the skillet), it got rave reviews. I think I added a little freshly ground black pepper at the end. I also put the green beans in at the end until they are just heated and very bright green. This keeps them still a bit crunchy, which my husband and our guy friends like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This dish was heavenly. Omitted the dill, after browning the onions added some balsamic vinegarswirled for a few secs and then added some diced mushrooms tossed for a few and then added the green beans, Everyone gave this one a hands up for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibsal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States