Green Beans with Bread Crumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
While reading the reviews I thought it was interesting that people either loved or hated this recipe. I thought it sounded good, but I also misread the recipe. In my head, I thought these beans went into the oven. When I realized my mistake, the recipe no longer appealed to me. I could see why the one reviewer said it tasted "sandy green beans". Maybe if the bread crumbs were sauteed in butter first and them sprinkled over the beans it would be better. I didn't use canned dry crumbs, but threw a couple of pieces of white bread into the food processor, along with fresh garlic and the cheese. I sprinkled the crumbs over the beans and poured melted butter over the dish. I put them in the oven for about twenty minutes and they came out very good. Kids and hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this on Thanksgiving - what a great alternative to green bean casserole! I used a bag of steamed green beans to cut down on time and hassle. I drizzled about a tablespoon or two of olive oil, no need for all that fat. The herbs and spices give it the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This was pretty tasty. I'm not a vegetable fan so it was nice to find a vegetable recipe that didn't load up on fat and cheese. BTW--I cut the oil back to about 1 T. My husband and I enjoyed this so I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I fixed these for our “Italian” themed Christmas dinner. They were a HUGE hit with everyone. I blanched the beans and mixed everything together several hrs before I was to serve dinner. Kept in the fridge then popped in the oven @ 350 for about 10-15 minutes. I think since everything had time to set and mix together, I didn’t get that “crunchy” effect other people were experiencing. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONDATRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
As is I don't think this recipe would be great, so I gave it 3 stars. Ten minutes is way too long for green beans, they'd turn to mush and there is too much olive oil and that wouldn't help with the mush factor either, so it's no wonder that people are complaining about the bread crumbs being soggy. However I found this recipe to be easy to adjust & it turned out to be the best dish on our holiday table! I steamed the green beans with some sliced garlic until they were just slightly under cooked. Then in a saute pan I cooked 4 strips of diced bacon, and when they were almost brown I added some quartered mushroom and the herbs (I used fresh, but dry would still work great). Instead of adding the olive oil, I sauted the steamed beans and garlic in the bacon mixture (which I hadn't drained) and then added the bread crumbs & parmesan. Next I put the whole thing in a baking dish, sprinkled it with more breadcrumbs & parmesan, and put it in the oven for 15-20 minutes (just long enough to finish cooking the beans & mushrooms). The parmesan didn't really melt, but it browned up with the bread crumbs and made a nice crunchy layer on the top. It was incredible! It's the only thing that I made that had no leftovers! I have never served green beans at the holidays before, but I will from now on! 5 Stars for the finished product!...But I never would have gotten there without this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason~and~Krissi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
What a great way to prepare green beans! We eat them alot so finding a new recipe is great! Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is a fool-proof recipe and a crowd pleaser. Very easy and quick to make, one I will use repeatedly! I don't understand the negative reviews, especially concerning "grit." Perhaps they didn't clean the beans properly, use the proper oil, or combine the marinade with the beans while they were hot. A guest for dinner also thought that the marinade in this recipe would work well with other veggies, and be even tastier allowed to marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These were sooooo easy to make and really awesome! I made a few minor adjustments: I steamed the beans in the microwave, and used about 2tsp of butter instead ofthe 1/4 C of olive oil. To keep the olive oil flavor though, I drizzled about 1/2T over the beans. Kids ate em up, and asked for more. My husband said the only bad part was that I didn't make enough!!!!!(I made a whole pound!) Will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Hmmmmmmm. I agree with Linda, I was intrigued by the like/dislike issue. I leaned more toward the dislike. It needs to be less oily & gritty. Just my taste though. Sorry Marie ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Sorry, no one in my family liked this recipe. The bread crumbs become soggy after a short while and we all felt there was way too much cheese in it. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States