Green Beans with Bread Crumbs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this on Thanksgiving - what a great alternative to green bean casserole! I used a bag of steamed green beans to cut down on time and hassle. I drizzled about a tablespoon or two of olive oil, no need for all that fat. The herbs and spices give it the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Nice change for greenbeans, didn't add cheese. FRESH minced garlic is key! I found that if I coat first with evoo then mix in the crumbs it doesn't get soggy. We make these once a week, these are a hit with guests and are for whatever reason 'manly greenbeans' the mans they love'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
So quick and easy that looks gourmet with any meal! The flavor of this dish doesn't over power the natural taste of the green beans, which I love. Definitely a keeper for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a quick and tasty dish! I would also add some chopped nuts (walnuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is a nice change from just plain green beans. I think I'll stick to my basic oven roasted green beans by Emeril unless I crave something different. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was so good, I just made a few changes to it. Once I put everything together I put them in a baking dish with extra cheese, bread crumbs, and pepper on top and baked it at 350 for about 8 to 10 mins. It might be a few less or more depending on the oven. The cheese was melted and oh so good give it a try. I also didn't use that much olive oil. I only used 2 Tablespoons and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Don't hate me but I am reviewing this even though I pretty much made up my own recipe from this. I took the green beans, steamed them then put them in ice water. After draining them, I tossed them with a mixture of bread crumbs, olive oil, seasoning salt and parmesan cheese. Then I put them in the oven at 375 for about 20. I thought they were great! Kids wouldn't eat them and hubby said they were OK but he doesn't love veggies so that's pretty good. Sorry for ripping this recipe apart but I did come up with something yummy so thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My family is always looking for new ways to eat vegetables. This seemed easy enough so we decided to give it a try. I used frozen green beans because that is all we had. Also, based on other reviews I only used a sprinkle of the bread crumbs to avoid sandiness. Great flavor. Pretty sure it would have been better with fresh beans as the frozen were a little wetter than I would have liked. Will make again everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I used my own homemade breadcrumbs, these were delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Very nice change from just plain green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States