Green Beans with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I almost skipped this recipe because of the 80% fat and high calories, but I'm so glad I didn't. It was terrific even with adjustments which reduced the fat to 54% (still high) and the calories by 2/3. Used 1 lb green beans for 4 servings, not 6. Steamed the beans in the microwave for 5 minutes, meanwhile cooked 2 slices of bacon. Poured off all but 1 tsp drippings and added 1 tsp canola oil. Deglazed the pan with 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar. Stir fried the beans and 2 Tbsp walnuts for about 1 minute. Crumbled the bacon and 2 Tbsp blue cheese on top. Fabulous, rich flavor combination, definitely company quality, and ready in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I used olive oil and feta cheese instead of bacon fat and blue cheese. Didn't measure, just browned some walnuts in the oil, threw in the steamed beans and heated through, added feta and served. This was un- believable! It was so delicious. My husband and two six-footer boys loved it. Not a scrap left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is absolutely WONDERFUL! The second time we made it, we substituted Feta for Bleu cheese (or some of each), sauteed the beans in olive oil/garlic rather than bacon grease, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Healthier, and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great! Fried up a couple pieces turkey bacon, then tossed the green beans in the pan (only had a tbs. or so of drippings so it wasn't too greasy or fatty) and cut the bacon into small pieces and tossed that in also. The blue cheese and walnuts really added great flavor and texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This recipe was delicious!! I am not a big fan of green beans, but this was excellent. I added crumbled bacon on top! Thank You Kate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Oh my gosh...these were absolutely delish! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It is amazing how such a simple recipe could have such depth of flavor. Great for a holiday or an elegant dinner party. Guess I already know what I will be bringing to Thanksgiving this year! Thanks Kate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This had a very sophisticated and elegant flavor...we really enjoyed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
The family really liked this. The only thing I did different was adding crumbled bacon instead of the toasted nuts. There were no leftovers and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
These were quite good. I did not have bacon drippings, so I used olive oil and added bacon bits. It turned just fine. Leftovers were good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good. Bacon makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States