Green Beans with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I almost skipped this recipe because of the 80% fat and high calories, but I'm so glad I didn't. It was terrific even with adjustments which reduced the fat to 54% (still high) and the calories by 2/3. Used 1 lb green beans for 4 servings, not 6. Steamed the beans in the microwave for 5 minutes, meanwhile cooked 2 slices of bacon. Poured off all but 1 tsp drippings and added 1 tsp canola oil. Deglazed the pan with 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar. Stir fried the beans and 2 Tbsp walnuts for about 1 minute. Crumbled the bacon and 2 Tbsp blue cheese on top. Fabulous, rich flavor combination, definitely company quality, and ready in about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Amazing side dish at our Thanksgiving dinner. I did use feta and added some fried onions to the bacon drippings. I used about half of the amount of drippings and it was plenty. Crumbled bacon was also a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was great! Fried up a couple pieces turkey bacon, then tossed the green beans in the pan (only had a tbs. or so of drippings so it wasn't too greasy or fatty) and cut the bacon into small pieces and tossed that in also. The blue cheese and walnuts really added great flavor and texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
The combination of bleu cheese, bacon, and walnuts is excellent. I didn't bother cutting up the green beans. I think they look and taste better left long. There was a bit too much bacon fat, though. I would reduce the amount next time. Also, I chopped and added the bacon I had cooked for the drippings to the beans. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it just didn't taste as good as I'd hoped. I was bummed, especially after reading all the reviews - I had high expectations! WAY too much bacon drippings for us - I'd recommend cutting back on that (I fried fresh bacon, too, just to get that 1/4 cup!), and the blue cheese was simply a wierd combination! I did like the walnuts tossed in, though! IF I ever make this again I'll use some other kind of cheese, like Feta or Asiago. ANYTHING but blue cheese - and we LOVE blue cheese, which is why I'm so disappointed. Sorry. I wish I could have given this a better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
We enjoyed this. I used butter instead of bacon drippings, added crumbled bacon, and thinly sliced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My husband and I thought these were fabulous! I think next time I will reduce the bacon dripping by half. We had gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese, but came out great just the same. Very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Oh my gosh...these were absolutely delish! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It is amazing how such a simple recipe could have such depth of flavor. Great for a holiday or an elegant dinner party. Guess I already know what I will be bringing to Thanksgiving this year! Thanks Kate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
These were quite good. I did not have bacon drippings, so I used olive oil and added bacon bits. It turned just fine. Leftovers were good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States