Green Beans with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
The combination of bleu cheese, bacon, and walnuts is excellent. I didn't bother cutting up the green beans. I think they look and taste better left long. There was a bit too much bacon fat, though. I would reduce the amount next time. Also, I chopped and added the bacon I had cooked for the drippings to the beans. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it just didn't taste as good as I'd hoped. I was bummed, especially after reading all the reviews - I had high expectations! WAY too much bacon drippings for us - I'd recommend cutting back on that (I fried fresh bacon, too, just to get that 1/4 cup!), and the blue cheese was simply a wierd combination! I did like the walnuts tossed in, though! IF I ever make this again I'll use some other kind of cheese, like Feta or Asiago. ANYTHING but blue cheese - and we LOVE blue cheese, which is why I'm so disappointed. Sorry. I wish I could have given this a better rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
We enjoyed this. I used butter instead of bacon drippings, added crumbled bacon, and thinly sliced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My husband and I thought these were fabulous! I think next time I will reduce the bacon dripping by half. We had gorgonzola instead of bleu cheese, but came out great just the same. Very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Oh my gosh...these were absolutely delish! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It is amazing how such a simple recipe could have such depth of flavor. Great for a holiday or an elegant dinner party. Guess I already know what I will be bringing to Thanksgiving this year! Thanks Kate:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
These were quite good. I did not have bacon drippings, so I used olive oil and added bacon bits. It turned just fine. Leftovers were good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
I did not care for this recipe. Because they used bacon drippings, it made it taste sooo fatty and heavy. The taste from the bacon drippings was way to strong, I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
This is a delicious dish and I was quite pleased with it. The taste combines well with any meat recipe using Worchestershire sauce (I did the "Baked Lamb Chops" submitted by Leslie W. Dobson).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Nice change for green beans, but I will make some changes. The next time I make this I'll use less bacon drippings & blue cheese. (we don't use blue cheese often, so it seemed strong to us) I did add crumbled bacon instead of the walnuts, but will try adding the walnuts next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is absolutely WONDERFUL! The second time we made it, we substituted Feta for Bleu cheese (or some of each), sauteed the beans in olive oil/garlic rather than bacon grease, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Healthier, and just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States