Green Beans with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Made this as a side for last thanksgiving, was a huge hit with my very paticular husband. It will be making a regular appearance at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was awesome! I was sort of surprised my kids not only tried it, but liked it and asked for seconds! I cooked the beans in chicken stock instead of water and subbed Feta for the Blue Cheese since we are not fans of it. I did saute my walnuts in butter with minced garlic because the mixture was left over from a chicken dish I was making. I think it added a nice dimension to the dish. I also added 4-5 pieces of crumbled bacon. I've got 17 bags of fresh picked green beans from the garden-I will certainly be making this dish again. Next time I will try it as written (minus the blue cheese)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made these last night and they were incredible. These green beans certainly could be served for a special occasion but are simple and quick enough to make for any meal. Not being able to get past the vomity taste of Blue Cheese I always swap it out for herbed Feta which is what I used. No the recipe is not low fat but then nothing in my kitchen is and I don't worry about that. Now I can't wait to pick my first batch of green beans this coming spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful .. Will be one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good. Bacon makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agata
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
It wasn't great but it was easy to make. I made a few alterations to spice things up a bit and lower the calories. Instead of pork bacon I used turkey bacon. However, turkey bacon doesn't have a lot of fat so I had to pour in a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil to keep the turkey and green beans from sticking to the pan. I also added sun-dried tomato, which was great with the blue cheese and walnuts. When I'm not on the South Beach diet, I will definitely try it with real pork bacon. I bet it would change the taste drastically. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Love love love it! Will definitely make it again. The only negative thing about it is that it is bad for my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
super yummy!! ... But I also didn't like the high fat content, so I took out the bacon grease and used olive oil and used feta cheese instead of blue cheese! My kids loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is SO good! We made it without the bacon grease and put in a little margarine and olive oil instead to make it a bit more cholesterol friendly, but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
delicious, used bacon and feta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States