Green Beans with Blue Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was awesome! I was sort of surprised my kids not only tried it, but liked it and asked for seconds! I cooked the beans in chicken stock instead of water and subbed Feta for the Blue Cheese since we are not fans of it. I did saute my walnuts in butter with minced garlic because the mixture was left over from a chicken dish I was making. I think it added a nice dimension to the dish. I also added 4-5 pieces of crumbled bacon. I've got 17 bags of fresh picked green beans from the garden-I will certainly be making this dish again. Next time I will try it as written (minus the blue cheese)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I made these last night and they were incredible. These green beans certainly could be served for a special occasion but are simple and quick enough to make for any meal. Not being able to get past the vomity taste of Blue Cheese I always swap it out for herbed Feta which is what I used. No the recipe is not low fat but then nothing in my kitchen is and I don't worry about that. Now I can't wait to pick my first batch of green beans this coming spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful .. Will be one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good. Bacon makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agata
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
It wasn't great but it was easy to make. I made a few alterations to spice things up a bit and lower the calories. Instead of pork bacon I used turkey bacon. However, turkey bacon doesn't have a lot of fat so I had to pour in a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil to keep the turkey and green beans from sticking to the pan. I also added sun-dried tomato, which was great with the blue cheese and walnuts. When I'm not on the South Beach diet, I will definitely try it with real pork bacon. I bet it would change the taste drastically. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Love love love it! Will definitely make it again. The only negative thing about it is that it is bad for my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
super yummy!! ... But I also didn't like the high fat content, so I took out the bacon grease and used olive oil and used feta cheese instead of blue cheese! My kids loved it too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This is SO good! We made it without the bacon grease and put in a little margarine and olive oil instead to make it a bit more cholesterol friendly, but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
delicious, used bacon and feta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Top notch! Star and save this delicious recipe. Crispy fresh green beans, crispy bacon and melted blue cheese or gorgonzola. The one veggie dish that everyone loves. Much requested, always an empty bowl. If I could only have one veggie recipe, this would be it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States