Green Beans with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I would have rated this 5-stars for ingredients and only 2-stars for the cooking method--the idea of cooking the raw bacon in with the cooking water just didn't appeal to me. I sauteed diced bacon with minced garlic, then tossed in the beans, cooked crisp tender, and finished with the almonds, which I toasted. Now THAT'S good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I revamped this recipe a lot...sorry. I cooked my beans as directed (leaving them slightly undercooked) only I added just a bit of bacon drippings to the water to add flavor. Meanwhile, I sauteed pearl onions & chopped pancetta in EVOO & a little butter until the onions were golden, deglazed the pan w/ a bit of chicken broth, added the green beans (drained) & sliced almonds... as well as a bit of Garlic Butter (recipe frm this site) that I had in the fridge. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Used frozen whole beans from Sam's Club and added a lot more slivered toasted almonds (Trader Joe's). Had to add a great amount of seasoning. I sauteed in butter as well as extra virgin olive oil and added fresh minced garlic. Also, seasoning salt and fresh ground black pepper. Without any of the above, this would have been blah. For this fact, I am giving the recipe a three. With my additions, it became a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Very yummy idea, and I used slivered almonds that were treated with garlic to add extra flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Bravo! Incorporating the bacon took the bitterness out of the beans without having to dredge them in butter. My husband LOVED this, and he is not a vegetable eater. Will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe about 95%. Instead of bacon I used unsalted butter strictly and sauteed the beans with almond slivers. I sauteed the beans until they were crispy and not limp. Then after I drained the excess butter. Be careful not to burn the almonds. Do not store covered or they will become soft and limp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This just needed a lot more flavor for us. I ended up tossing in melted butter with garlic salt added to it. I think next time I will try simmering the almonds in the garlic butter mixture and just pour over the beans and toss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide, but changed the method quite a bit. I cooked my bacon separately, cooled and crumbled it. I tossed the almonds in a little of the bacon grease and toasted them in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes. I cooked my green beans in water until crisp tender, drained them and tossed them in a little more of the bacon grease. When it was time to serve I re-heated the beans and bacon in the microwave, adding salt and pepper, and served them garnished with the toasted almonds. Different method entirely, but my results were probably similar to the submitter’s intent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I used slivered almonds roasted in toaster oven - be carefull not to burn almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was delicious, and easy. I used chopped hazelnuts because that was what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States