Green Beans with Almonds and Caramelized Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe. I cut back on the sugar to 1 Tbs and replaced the shallots with red onion because I didn't have shallots. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Person
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I doubled the recipe because we had so many fresh beans to use from the garden. No shallots so used 3 green onions and a white onion. Only had one red bell pepper so used one yellow bell pepper too. Cut down some on the sugar after reading other reviews, but didn't actually measure anything. Also I had whole almonds and slivered them myself. Got rave reviews and everyone going back for seconds, even the guy who doesn't like unusual things and my teenage daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Erd, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My sister makes these to go with Christmas dinner and everyone loves them. She says they're super easy to make, too. Some of the pictures on here look as if the beans were overdone, but hers are always tender-crisp and bright green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mscheetz
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
unfortunately i wasn't impressed with this and green beans are one of my favorite veggies.. i left out the sugar b/c we don't like sweet.. even with the almonds i still felt like it was lacking.. i gave in and just added a three cheese blend of parm, romano, and asiago.. had added a couple cloves of garlic in the beginning and a combo of margarine and olive oil instead of butter.. maybe if the green beans had been sauteed instead of steamed it would have more flavor? i'm not sure..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I love making this. Vegetables are always so hard because a lot of them are so bland but this is a great way to add a whole bunch of flavor to greens. I have made this many times. It's a big hit in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
5 star all the way. My guests gobbled it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Delicious! This recipe is great! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I've been looking for ways to prepare vegetables so my son will eat them and he loved this one. I did add minced garlic with the shallots and peppers, but otherwise, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
My husband and I both thought this recipe was fantastic. The shallots are what make it so good. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
My new favourite way to eat green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States