Green Beans With a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Three stars as written because if I had used all the mayo, it would have been a mayo salad with green beans instead of a green bean salad with mayo. I used half the mayo and since I do not like canned green beans, I used frozen haricot vert. The seasoning needed some tweaking for my taste. I'll make this again, but use even less mayo next time.. maybe 1/4- 1/3 of a cup and add a shot of spicy mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is a great summer recipe! I made this on Father's Day and everyone loved. I did use less mayo as suggested and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Pretty good. Needed to use almost 3 times the green beans and will double the horseradish if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Very yummy, I made a double batch of beans and a single recipe of the dressing. The lemon juice adds a nice tang, but don't use more than the recipe calls for. Will make this one a part of my summer recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Great hot weather green bean "salad". Use less Mayo, original recipe makes too "white" and oily. This was delicious with ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Good & easy. I prefer less mayonnaise, steamed green beans & added bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Last summer we were tired of the usual salads so I went on a hunt for something different. Well, this recipe has become a favorite and we even enjoyed it throughout the rest of the year. Two things I learned through experimentation: 1 - I use less mayonaise than the recipe calls for. 2 - Try this recipe with steamed fresh green bean - awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I thought it was good, but would add bacon bits the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I saw this recipe and tried it because my boyfriend loves horseradish sauce and i was bored with plain old vegetables. I left out lemon juice though. And used french style green beans. It was different but good. Next time though, I may use less mayo and more horseradish sauce. I think I would try this recipe again. We enjoyed it. If you are looking for something different, this is it! Give it a try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
The only thing I changed was to use Miracle Whip in place of the mayo. Came out superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States