Green Beans for a Special Occasion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe, quick to make and very classy. I used frozen green beans and sauteed them with the garlic and pine nuts instead of boiling first. I thought they had a great, nutty flavor from the garlic, and my father-in-law kept raving about the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
These were good, but I thought it needed a little more flavor...I did add a few things. I first sauted a little bacon until the fat was gone with thinly sliced wedges of purple onion, drained the grease. I then added the pine nuts, green beans a little olive oil and a few tablespoons of balsamic vinegar. This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This is the best green bean recipe I ever used. Everything in it was my husbands favorite...The garlic and the pinenuts. I always keep pinenuts in a sealed container in my freezer, to add to the flavor of many recipes. I seasoned the hot beans in the strainer, before adding them to the garlic and pinenuts. The green beans retained their color and looked lovely besides tasting wonderful. Thank you for a great recipe. Nancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
These were awesome, and so simple to make. I used frozen green beans, two garlic cloves and slivered almonds instead of pine nuts. My husband who hates green beans tried them, and said he loved it and wanted me to make them again!!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Loved the recipe, a nice fresh twist! Thanks for sharing. If you don't have Pine Nuts, you can use slivered almonds also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I'm not sure why this dish is rated so high, because we found it very blah. One Tbsp olive oil is not enough oil for 1 pound of beans. 1 clove of garlic is not enough garlic and the pine nuts (even though chopped) do not cling to the beans...they just sit in the bottom of the pan. Unfortunately, it is not likely that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Frankly, upon first glance, I thought this dish would be bland! But I was sooo wrong! The S&P and fresh garlic flavored the green beans so wonderfully - they were delicious! I used frozen green beans and used slivered toasted almonds because that's what I had on hand, but my, my, my! What a wonderful dish! My husband loved them and so did I! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I love green beans, and wanted an easy recipe that can be made easily when entertaining. This is very easy and comes out very good. I always make any recipe exactly as written the first time, then I start my experimenting later. I did find that a sprinkling of grated parmesan cheese made this dish really shine. I also tried it with bacon bits, but I liked the cheest better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Very good, very simple and quick. I found I had to cook the beans for twice as long to get them tender. I also added some roasted radishes (roasted 15 minutes at 450, with olive oil, salt, and pepper) to toss in with the green beans for a nice side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Very Good! I used frozen green beans that I boiled for about 10 minutes first. I used a little more garlic and threw the beans in with the garlic/pine nuts/oil for a couple minutes. They had great flavor and a different twist to a great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States