Green Bean Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used this recipe as a springboard and am rating it 5 stars using my changes: doubled the gr. beans, add 1/2 C mushrooms sauteed with onion. I didn't dice the onion, left it in strips and sauteed til transparent. Was out of worcestershire, so I added a little more soy (didn't miss it.) Skipped the salt since soy sauce is salty. Used Wisconsin extra sharp white cheddar. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is a great recipe lots of flavor. I doubled the beans. I didn't use fresh I used canned beans two of them. I also added fresh mushrooms that I sauteed with the onion. I also added a lil more than a 1/4 cup of sour cream. I omitted the w. chestnuts just cause i don't like them. All in all this was a great dish. Definitely more flavor than the same recipe everyone is used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was really yummy. I omitted the hot pepper sauce and added 4 pieces of crumbled bacon. I live in Montreal and had a hard time finding the French-Fried onion rings. No one even knew what I was talking about--strange since it's a French province! Anyway, I substitued chow mein noodles which gave it a nice crunch. Everyone loved it! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
It was too runny. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Very good, very rich - used less cheese (no way I was using 3 cups), more beans, less salt. Will make again. BTW - not runny at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I definately suggest doubling the green beans in this recipe or you have a mushroom soup with green beans instead of the other way around! I found it really salty as well, so I'll probably make a few adjustments next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
This dish is spicier than the traditional recipe, and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Loved it! I omitted the pepper sauce because of my kids, and used cheddar flavored French-fried onions. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe. Something a little different. Made exactly as the recipe called for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I usually stick to the recipe as is the first time I make it so I can rate it correctly. However, I did have to make a few small changes due to what I had on hand. I had about 3-4 cups of beans and wanted to use them up so I used them all. I only had 2 cups of cheese instead of 3 cups but to tell you the truth, that really seemed to be enough. The last thing was that I didn't have the fried onions to put on top but it was still delicious. Either way I believe it was a 5. Nice little change to the common Green Bean Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States