Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This did not turn out thick at all when I made it. If I make it again I will increase the amount of flour I add. Despite being quite thin, the flavor was pleasant. Really different from standard American fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Love this soup. It is also a family recipe. I cook it with out the bacon and use French cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great recipe. I used light beef stock instead of water, added a few potatos and used a bit more garlic, onion and bacon than required by the recipe. Great taste; I will certainly do this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This had WAY too many green beans and was definitely too watery. The sour cream did add a good flavor, though it was still pretty bland. We didn't really like it the first time, so I tweaked it by using a diluted beef stock instead of water, with a touch of worchestershire. I also added potatoes and more bacon, plus made it much thicker. That time it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I had some green beans to use up so this recipe intrigued me. Other reviewers said it was bland so I made some changes. I used cambells chicken stock instead of water and added potatoes and veal sausage in addition to the bacon. I also used about 1 tbsp cornstarch at the end to thicken it slightly. It was tasty, hearty and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
do not cook onions and bacon together like one reviewer suggested the onions are burn't by the time the bacon is done. Also I thought the vinegar made this probably the worst soup i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Unfortunately, we did not enjoy this recipe. I thought it sounded interesting and was excited to try it, but my family and I were disappointed. I found it to be very bland, and watery. I even double checked the recipe to see if I went wrong some where, but found I had followed the directions exactly. I wish I had put the beans through the food processor first, although I don't think that would have saved the recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I loved this. I had a couple of other veggies in the fridge to use up, and just threw them in with the beans. I changed it some by adding extra bacon, onion, and garlic. I cooked the bacon and onion together, then added in the flour. Poured some bean soup juice into the bacon onion flour mixture, then put it all in together. I used the sour cream as a dollop before I served. These flavors together were just what I was looking for....and believe me, they work together so well. I appreciate so much your grandma's recipe.....even tho I changed it a little, it was truly delicious! Even my husband said so. Thank you. This was exactly what I was looking for when I searched for a green bean soup...and I had all the ingredients on hand. Totally delicious. Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was an interesting recipe, so I thought I'd make it. My husband and kids LOVED IT! So did I, I will definatly make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I've been searching for a green bean soup recipe since I had it in a restaurant a couple of years ago and loved it. I was thrilled to find this and I'm happy to say that it was as wonderful as I had remembered. My only change was to puree the beans and then used some of the whole ones as a garnish. Thanks Jamie for a wonderful recipe that my whole family found delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States