Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was an interesting recipe, so I thought I'd make it. My husband and kids LOVED IT! So did I, I will definatly make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Love this soup. It is also a family recipe. I cook it with out the bacon and use French cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I added more bacon, and a flower and milk mixture to thicken. Simmered for 2 hours. The beans were out of my garden. This is a super good soup and good for you plus easy to make. I will make another pot for the freezer. My wife loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I loved this. I had a couple of other veggies in the fridge to use up, and just threw them in with the beans. I changed it some by adding extra bacon, onion, and garlic. I cooked the bacon and onion together, then added in the flour. Poured some bean soup juice into the bacon onion flour mixture, then put it all in together. I used the sour cream as a dollop before I served. These flavors together were just what I was looking for....and believe me, they work together so well. I appreciate so much your grandma's recipe.....even tho I changed it a little, it was truly delicious! Even my husband said so. Thank you. This was exactly what I was looking for when I searched for a green bean soup...and I had all the ingredients on hand. Totally delicious. Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I was raised on this also, but every time I make it my soup curdles when I add the vinegar. What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We enjoyed this soup a lot. Instead of bacon, I used a ham bone and cooked everything (except the sour cream) in the slow cooker for 8 hours. It needs more than a pinch of salt. Try 1 1/2 tsp. at least. Came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Another option would be to cook a ham bone with the green beans, etc. for a few hours and add potatoes near the end of the cooking. I mash the potatoes a little to help thicken it. I also add vinegar and a little sugar to balance the tartness. I don't use sour cream. Recipe was handed down from my great-grandmother. This is definitely comfort food and a very inexpensive soup to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Had a bumper crop of mature green beans and made this soup...it was souper:) And my husband loved it; said it reminded him of soup his Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe! I followed others' advice by adding potatoes, extra bacon, and two chicken bouillion cubes. I decided to change the parsley to dill, and this seemed to add a nice flavour. I didn't see the need to add the vinegar, so I didn't... it seemed to turn out just fine without it. Definitely worth a try, if you don't mind modifying recipes to suit your own tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States