Green Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This did not turn out thick at all when I made it. If I make it again I will increase the amount of flour I add. Despite being quite thin, the flavor was pleasant. Really different from standard American fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Love this soup. It is also a family recipe. I cook it with out the bacon and use French cut green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadian Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Great recipe. I used light beef stock instead of water, added a few potatos and used a bit more garlic, onion and bacon than required by the recipe. Great taste; I will certainly do this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This had WAY too many green beans and was definitely too watery. The sour cream did add a good flavor, though it was still pretty bland. We didn't really like it the first time, so I tweaked it by using a diluted beef stock instead of water, with a touch of worchestershire. I also added potatoes and more bacon, plus made it much thicker. That time it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I had some green beans to use up so this recipe intrigued me. Other reviewers said it was bland so I made some changes. I used cambells chicken stock instead of water and added potatoes and veal sausage in addition to the bacon. I also used about 1 tbsp cornstarch at the end to thicken it slightly. It was tasty, hearty and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
do not cook onions and bacon together like one reviewer suggested the onions are burn't by the time the bacon is done. Also I thought the vinegar made this probably the worst soup i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Unfortunately, we did not enjoy this recipe. I thought it sounded interesting and was excited to try it, but my family and I were disappointed. I found it to be very bland, and watery. I even double checked the recipe to see if I went wrong some where, but found I had followed the directions exactly. I wish I had put the beans through the food processor first, although I don't think that would have saved the recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I loved this. I had a couple of other veggies in the fridge to use up, and just threw them in with the beans. I changed it some by adding extra bacon, onion, and garlic. I cooked the bacon and onion together, then added in the flour. Poured some bean soup juice into the bacon onion flour mixture, then put it all in together. I used the sour cream as a dollop before I served. These flavors together were just what I was looking for....and believe me, they work together so well. I appreciate so much your grandma's recipe.....even tho I changed it a little, it was truly delicious! Even my husband said so. Thank you. This was exactly what I was looking for when I searched for a green bean soup...and I had all the ingredients on hand. Totally delicious. Thank you. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was an interesting recipe, so I thought I'd make it. My husband and kids LOVED IT! So did I, I will definatly make this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I've been searching for a green bean soup recipe since I had it in a restaurant a couple of years ago and loved it. I was thrilled to find this and I'm happy to say that it was as wonderful as I had remembered. My only change was to puree the beans and then used some of the whole ones as a garnish. Thanks Jamie for a wonderful recipe that my whole family found delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States