Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was much too sweet for me. I would use only 1/3 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was really good! It did remind me of the 4 bean salad that my mom used to make. I used Splenda instead of sugar and fire-roasted red peppers instead of pimentos, because that is what I had. Next time I'll cut back the dressing ingredients to about 2/3 because there is a lot more dressing than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a delicious twist to the ever popular 4 bean salad...one that I like better and tastes much fresher! I did make a few changes based on personal preference. I made this using foods I had on hand...to the frozen corn,green beans and peas I added a bag of frozen mixed veggies (the carrots added a punch of color),cut the sugar to 3/4c cup, used 1/4 cup garlic infused olive oil, a teaspoon of tarragon flakes, 1 teaspoon mustard powder and a teaspoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice. I omitted the pimentos,celery & water. Thank you for such a tasty & healthy salad:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBORAHARV614

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. I ended up putting in a can of drained black beans, to make it a little more substantial for my fussy teenager. This salad is good the day it's made and I think better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made this salad today and couldn't wait four hours so tried them after an hour and a half. It was so good, I can imagine how good it will be after it sits a little longer. Can't wait. Followed the recipe. Thanks Patsy. I have something new to serve for the next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I have made this recipe for about 15 years. (Mine is called Marinated Vegetables and came from south Georgia.) Except for the corn and water, and using just a single serving can of peas, it is the same. I would leave the water out. It gets crunchier the longer it is refrigerated. It will keep a week or longer in the refrigerator because of the amt of vinegar and sugar. We love it with meals and as a relish with sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Too much dressing. No need to add water.Cut way back on the sugar, oil and vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I omitted the pimentos, used a can of white shoepeg corn instead of regular, and added 1 small can of mexican style corn. The only other change I made was reducing the oil to 1/4 cup. I feel that 1/2 cup just makes the salad too oily, which is my reason for 4 stars and not 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I took this to a gathering, and everyone went back for seconds on these yummy veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
everyone likes this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States