Green Bean Salad with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I first tried it without the green. It was OK. I then added the greens but only about half as much and it was a LOT better then without them despite what others have suggested. Just use 2-3 cups not 4 cups which dilutes the flavor too much. I used "bulk" dried cranberries which are soft, sweet and juicy unlike commercial boxed ones but with more tang then dried Bing cherries would provide. I'd also wait until it's served to add the feta or it will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This salad was okay,it could be better. I didn't care for the fennel seeds and my husband didn't care for the orange juice and cranberries, although I liked them. I think next time I'll omit the cranberries and orange juice, and substitute fresh dill for the fennel seeds. Might try red wine vinegar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I was looking for a way to use up some green beans and this fit the bill very nicely. I cooked the green beans in the morning and just put them in the refrigerator. I then mixed everything up right before eating dinner. I did omit the fennel seeds as I didn't have any, but otherwise made as written. The dressing is very good as written, but you really cannot taste the orange juice as the balsamic vinegar takes over the taste. I made a big batch of the dressing since making the salad and added extra orange juice so the taste would shine through. Very Good. I will be making this salad again, and will probably always have the dressing on hand to use with salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Really good recipe but I did use a mortar and pestle to crush the fennel seeds and added 1 more Tbsp of balsamic and left out the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this too soon in advance and it sat in my fridge for a good day. The vinegar ended up ruling the taste and there was absolutely no hint of orange juice. I do plan on making this again because I really like the idea of this salad; fun, healthy, & tasty. But next time I'll increase the orange juice or possibly add a can of mandarin oranges. I always have these ingredients on hand, what a bonus. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was really good. The dressing was delicious, with many different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used some sliced almonds in place of fennel (as I don't like fennel). I omitted the dried cranberries and squeezed half a fresh orange . I steamed the fresh green beans in the microwave with alot of garlic. deliciously healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Healthy and colorful but surprisingly bland... I made this for Thanksgiving and the response around the table was the same... no one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This salad is awesome - the dressing and cheese are so yummy you don't even realize you're eating so many vegetables! I used spinach instead of greens and omitted the fennel because I don't like it. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Another hit. It went wonderfully with BBQ Chuck Roast and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States