Green Bean Salad with Feta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I went looking for a green bean salad and this one fit the bill, but I wanted one that focused on the green beans so the main adaptation I made was to leave out the mixed salad greens. I used a pound of green beans, which I cooked al dente as directed. I made a dressing out of 1 tbsp olive oil, the orange juice and balsamic, and substituted pine nuts for the fennel. I halved the feta and used 1/4 cup of dried cranberries. I tossed all the ingredients together, and voila, a green bean salad focusing on the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was a nice change from just plain salad and just plain green beans. I did not like the fennel seeds in it though. I used the orange flavored "Craisins" and that really complimented the orange juice already in the recipe. I love the feta in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a great salad. The only thing we changed was using dried cherries instead of dried cranberries and only because we prefer dried cherries over cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
It was an okay salad. Wouldn't be very interesting without the cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is a great salad! I used more beans than baby lettuce- and even added chunks of fresh orange. Following our reviewer, I added pine nuts. The cranberries were very tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I was looking for something different for green beans...this was a great change. I tossed cooked green beans with the feta, olive oil, balsamic vinegar and orange juice. Then I added sliced grape tomatoes and some slivered almonds I had on hand. What a yummy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I didn't make this with lettuce. I wanted just a green bean recipe and this isn't it. I'm sure if it was with the salad it would be far better. I was hoping for more of an orange taste in the dressing with the fennel but the balsamic overpowered it completely. thanks but i'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! I'd give this five stars, but I changed a few things in the recipe. I omitted the fennel seeds and added pine nuts, and instead of using orange juice I melted some orange juice concentrate from the can. It was a very yummy salad, and my 8 yo dd declared it one of her new favorites. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
change the fennel to pine nuts, the feta to goat cheese, and it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used some sliced almonds in place of fennel (as I don't like fennel). I omitted the dried cranberries and squeezed half a fresh orange . I steamed the fresh green beans in the microwave with alot of garlic. deliciously healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States