Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I've made this 4 times now and my whole family loves it! I did change a few things...like doubling the sauce, using light soy instead of regular, and a few tsp of spicy Hunan smokehut hibachi grill sauce (House of Tsang)yummmm. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith LaBarbera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I used a bit more soy sauce and served over rice. Very Good - but most importantly - my 3 year old not only ate but ENJOYED Green Beans!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like to make this recipe with a can of stewed or diced tomatoes added at the last 5 minutes. Otherwise, it's a little bland. With the tomatoes, it's just like my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Very quick and easy. It's not gourmet, but it did the trick. Would make again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I found this recipe a bit disappointing -- not very exciting, rather bland. I have a similar recipe using ground beef and green beans that uses garlic and ginger, soy sauce and a dash vinegar with cornstarch that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Easy, very easy and handy as a last-minute meal. My husband and 15 month old son loved it and ate tons, I had no leftovers. I actually added a bit more soy sauce than called for, since I use Aloha soy sauce and it's less salty. Served over japanese sticky rice, it's a good, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This was really simple and quick to make. I served it over a bed of rice and didn't add the full amounts of soy sauce and sugar. It was still sweet. I thought it was pretty good for how easy it is to make. I wouldn't say it's one of my favorites, but it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I wasn't that impressed, but still it was edible and decent when I was running low on food in my kitchen. I would not go out of my way to make it again unless I found myself in the same position again with just a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I guess this is one of those dishes that you have to acquire a taste for. I had to try it based on the other great reviews, but my husband and I both agreed this would be the last time I would make it - the flavor was very strange. I suggest that if you never had it as a child, make it in smaller amounts to try it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
My family loved this. It's so simple, but very tasty. We just ate it plain (w/out rice) because I didn't have time to make the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States