Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
yum! Sounded kind of one-dimensional,so I mixed some dried chopped onions into the ground beef before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Chopped fresh basil certainly improves this simple, time-saving dish. I'll probably add some black-bean sauce next time. I sauteed onion and garlic with only 1/2 lb. ground beef too. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Very interesting dish. I made it and my husband and I weren't crazy about it, but the more you eat of it, the more you like it! I will make it again but with less sugar next time. Update: I was out of green beans so I made it with broccoli, 1/2 Tbs of brown sugar, half an onion, and some spicy pepper paste. Wow! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I combined many of the recommendations and then went by taste. I thought I had green beans in the freezer but they were an oriental vegetable blend (which worked well but I think I could have used 2 bags instead of 1). I used tomatoes, onion, garlic (fresh), then added in Emerel spices. I made a cold bow tie pasta but you definitely need 2 hot items with this dish. The next day I made some smashed potatoes and used this to go over it. I also added some sezchaun sauce and that gave it a little pizzaz! Anyway this goes great over potatoe! The first night it fed 3 people (plus some pasta) and then there was just enough left for 2 people for leftovers the next night. It was a good recipe to start off with and then expand on based on your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
Everybody especially my picky father in law loved this recipe. I added finely diced onions and carrots. I used beef broth instead of water, but next time I'll use sodium free broth because it came out a little salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Yum. I used canned Italian-cut green beans (no need to cook as long) and splenda in place of sugar. Very good, I'll definitely keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Absolutely WONDERFUL!! I cut the sugar by 1 tablespoon and it was still sweet, added garlic, ginger and carrots. Great way to use ground beef and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This reminds me of a dish called Ganbian doujiao in Chinese, pretty much the same thing but with ground pork (which I used instead of beef) and it's spicy and sweet. I used extra dark soy sauce because it's all I had and the dish came out black! It looked intimidating but good nonetheless. Goes great with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This is a definite keeper! It was super easy and even my "I don't eat meat" daughter loved it! I used canned green beans (the no salt kind) instead of fresh and it made it much faster for the time conscience person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Very good! It's a unique dish. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Updated: I now serve it over rice; it makes for a more complete meal. But I only cook the beans about 5 minutes or so then take off the lid so there's more juice left for the rice. Then cook uncovered just a few minutes longer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States