Green Bean Okazu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This is fantastic and South Beach Diet friendly if you substitute Splenda (I use 1/8 c splenda blend), light soy sauce, and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
The kids liked it. They told me to rate it 4 stars because it was good, but they still aren't fond of green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I substituted diced chicken breasts for beef. I doubled the recipe but only used half the sugar. I added sliced red pepper, garlic, green onion and thickened with corn starch. Served with basmati rice. I will definately make this again. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
It was tasty but fairly bland - I thickened the sauce, but would have liked more of it. It was definitely a great way to get everyone to eat a large portion of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Love this recipe. It is easy to fix and uses ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is a fine meal, although nothing special. I added 1 tsp each of minced garlic, oregano and basil and it was still rather bland. It may have been more flavorfull if I had served it by itself, but over mashed potatoes it really didn't taste like much. I did cut back the sugar to 1 heaping Tbsp and I didn't think it had any sweetness to it at all. It's a good way to get the veggies in though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Like several other reviewers, I cut the sugar a bit, added garlic, oregano and basil for seasonings, and sauteed some onion with the meat. But I substituted lean ground turkey for the meat, and it still turns out great, just like my parents used to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bubu
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Really good recipe! was a hit for dinner at home. definitely will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
My Fussy Kids LOVED this one!!! Great served w/ rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This dish satisfied me, my husband, and my toddler daughter, so I'll definitely be making it again! I tweaked the recipe to add more flavors, though. I sauteed the ground meat with diced onion and about 1 tsp. minced garlic. I also added a can of sliced water chestnuts near the end of cooking for extra crunch, and mixed in a few teaspons of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I cut the sugar in half, like others have suggested, and it was just the right amount of sweetness. Frozen green beans worked fine. A very simple and satisfying dish -- if you serve with rice and fresh fruit, you've got a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States