Green Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Wow! The taste of Asia! Thanks for the great recipe. We didn't have the curry leaves and I used only about 1 teaspoon of the lime juice but it smelled and tasted just like we were back in Asia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I used this more for inspiration...so I don't know if I have a right to rate it. I added chicken for the carnavore hubby and some shredded coconut and the whole can of c.milk to make more sauce - oh and a handful of dried apricots. Was sooo yummy...thanks for the headstart on my inspiration for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Like everyone else, I didn't have exactly the right ingredients, but it is a good basic recipe that you can do a lot with! I didn't have serrano peppers, curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but added a Tbsp of garam masala and some red pepper flakes to the spices. I also pre-cooked and sliced some chicken, and added them in with the green beans. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I liked it a lot too but would recommend cutting the green beans in bite size pieces and adding some chicken or pork. I didn't have the curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but wouldn't mind trying to find them for the next time I make this. Very fragrant and flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
leave out coconut milk--diluted the good curry flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We loved this one ... perfect over brown basmati rice for a vegetarian entree ... I just wish I had increased the recipe ... as written it was just enough for my husband and I for dinner - no seconds :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty tasty! I only had frozen green beans mixed with waxed beans and carrots, but the extra veggies only made this more delicious. I do like a sweet spicy curry so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. The lime juice is amazing! I never knew that was what was missing in past curry recipes. I did adjust spices slightly to my preferences and used the whole can of coconut milk for extra sauce (and I thought it was grainy with only a 1/2 c). Next time I will add cube tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved it! I doubled the recipe.I chopped up the frozen green beans from my garden last fall into tiny tiny pieces.I chopped chicken breast into tiny tiny pieces added it.Put in a 400 ml can of72% less fat coconut milk.Next time I will try coconut oil instead of vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband and I loved this one. I used it as a side dish to Tandoori chicken. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil to mirror the coconut milk and I followed the spices exactly. I couldn't get enough! That's my photo. Such a yummy recipe deserves a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Enjoyed trying this nice side dish! I didn't have access to curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but otherwise made as written. Flavorful and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States