Green Bean Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Wow! The taste of Asia! Thanks for the great recipe. We didn't have the curry leaves and I used only about 1 teaspoon of the lime juice but it smelled and tasted just like we were back in Asia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I used this more for inspiration...so I don't know if I have a right to rate it. I added chicken for the carnavore hubby and some shredded coconut and the whole can of c.milk to make more sauce - oh and a handful of dried apricots. Was sooo yummy...thanks for the headstart on my inspiration for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Like everyone else, I didn't have exactly the right ingredients, but it is a good basic recipe that you can do a lot with! I didn't have serrano peppers, curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but added a Tbsp of garam masala and some red pepper flakes to the spices. I also pre-cooked and sliced some chicken, and added them in with the green beans. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I liked it a lot too but would recommend cutting the green beans in bite size pieces and adding some chicken or pork. I didn't have the curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but wouldn't mind trying to find them for the next time I make this. Very fragrant and flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
leave out coconut milk--diluted the good curry flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
We loved this one ... perfect over brown basmati rice for a vegetarian entree ... I just wish I had increased the recipe ... as written it was just enough for my husband and I for dinner - no seconds :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Pretty tasty! I only had frozen green beans mixed with waxed beans and carrots, but the extra veggies only made this more delicious. I do like a sweet spicy curry so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. The lime juice is amazing! I never knew that was what was missing in past curry recipes. I did adjust spices slightly to my preferences and used the whole can of coconut milk for extra sauce (and I thought it was grainy with only a 1/2 c). Next time I will add cube tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved it! I doubled the recipe.I chopped up the frozen green beans from my garden last fall into tiny tiny pieces.I chopped chicken breast into tiny tiny pieces added it.Put in a 400 ml can of72% less fat coconut milk.Next time I will try coconut oil instead of vegetable oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My husband and I loved this one. I used it as a side dish to Tandoori chicken. I used coconut oil instead of olive oil to mirror the coconut milk and I followed the spices exactly. I couldn't get enough! That's my photo. Such a yummy recipe deserves a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Enjoyed trying this nice side dish! I didn't have access to curry leaves or fenugreek seeds, but otherwise made as written. Flavorful and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States