Green Bean Cheddar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We all liked this so much it will be Sunday dinner once in a while. I used chicken with bone and skin, I seasoned the meat with salt and pepper,and cooked it in the same skillet I made the bacon. I used frenches fried onion rings on top of the green beans instead of bread crumbs. I used a half of the soup can of milk to loosen the soup a little. So much flavor and the meat was juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was really amazing! I cooked the beans in the bacon grease. I don't know how this doesn't get a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have cayenne so I added onion powder and paprika to the top. I also didn't have cream of cheddar soup so I used cream of chicken (healthy request = less salt) and I added almost a whole can of milk. It was really good and I will definitely make it again. It isn't as easy as some one dish recipes but it doesn't take too long either! Perfect week night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I added brown rice which turned this into a complete meal in one casserole. I pre-cooked the brown rice and made it into a bottom layer. My other changes were cutting the chicken into serving size portions for each family member then just laying 2-3 strips of that pre-cooked bacon over each one. I decided not to use bread crumbs cuz it seemed like there was enough going on in that pan already!! Came out delish. Even the leftovers were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was actually quite good for an everyday meal. I did not include the cayenne (it doesn't say where to use it, and I'm not a fan anyway. I used only three strips of bacon to reduce the fat, which still worked well flavor-wise. I also baked the chicken instead of sauteing it, as baking or poaching is the only way I can keep chicken from being too dry. The only other recommendations I would make is to heat the cheese soup separately, as the broil time is not sufficient to heat it, and to buy Trader Joe's frozen French green beans if you can. It makes it so much easier to make this as a "pantry" dish if you have frozen green beans, frozen chicken, and a couple cans of cheese soup on hand for a last minute-meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I gotta say, I didn't love this recipe. It was just too much, but not enough flavor. I sauteed the chicken with garlic and pepper, which helped, but the cheddar cheese soup was just too bland. I think cream of mushroom would be better. Also, I don't think the breadcrumbs were all that necessary. They didn't add much to dish at all. The bacon was nice, but wasn't enough to help this recipe. Thanks, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was surprisingly good even though I made some changes (mistakes?). I didn't have cheddar cheese soup so I heated up some cream of mushroom in the same pan I used to brown the chicken and melted in some of the cheddar cheese. I also misread the recipe and layered the cheese, then the bread crumbs and bacon and baked at 400. The chicken was perfectly browned and crunchy. Initially, I only thought to make an OK dinner, but this turned out much, much better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I really loved the crispy cheese on top with bacon. I wasn't as big of a fan of the cheddar soup component. It needed more flavor and substance. This seems like good hearty country eats but not a recipe to return to that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made some modifications as noted by other reviews. I used more liquid. I mixed the can of cheese soup with a can of cream of chicken. That turned out good. I also added more spices to the entire dish and the chicken before I fried it. My only suggestion to myself for next time would be to cook the beans less before baking in the oven, as these turned out a little mushy. Great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I didn't like the Cheddar cheese soup. With all of the fresh ingredients that canned soup tasted canned and stale, definitely NOT the trick. The chicken and cheese and bacon were WONDERFUL together and this would have been MOST excellent with some Hollandaise sauce instead of the cheddar soup. Next time, green beans on the side, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Cheddar Chicken

See how to make a simple, top-rated baked chicken recipe.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States